What is a database?
What does a database icon look like on the VLC?
This is an example of what a database looks like:
Need help with the VLC?
SUBMIT your question by clicking on the icon above
SOUMETTEZ votre question
TEXT/TEXTEZ: 613-704-0144
TWEET/TWEETEZ: @ucdsbvlc
Visit the Games & Databases page on the VLC (see link below) and filter the full list of databases by "Subject" - choose the Subject area associated with your course.
Then, within the results read the database descriptions and identify those that you would like to embed in D2L. You are also able to embed the entire list of databases associated with this Subject.
Option #1: Link to the Database
Locate the VLC database that you would like students to use and simply "Create a Link" within your course Content.
Note: Students will require database logins on the back of the VLC bookmark to access the databases from home.
Please ask for your LCI for a copy of the VLC bookmark.
Option #2: Embed the Database + Search Options for more Subject-Specific Databases
1. Once logged-in to your course select "Content" from the top menu options.
2. Select the module that you would like to add a Database to.
3. Click on the "Add Existing Activities" button, and select "External Learning Tools" from the options in the drop-down.
4. Click on "Virtual Learning Commons." You will then return to the main-page of the module that you are in.
5. In the list of your module's activities you will see the hyperlinked words "Virtual Learning Commons." Click on the hyperlinked words, not the arrow.
6. In the subsequent drop-down menu select "LibGuides - vlc.ucdsb.ca"
7. In the drop-down menu below, called "Content Type," select: Specific A-Z Databases.
You will be able to hand-pick the specific databases that you would like to add.
***If you choose this option, D2L will required that you select the name of the database that you would like to add. This option only allows you to add 1 database at a time!
1. Once logged-in to your course select "Content" from the top menu options.
2. Select the module that you would like to add a Database to.
3. Click on the "Add Existing Activities" button, and select "External Learning Tools" from the options in the drop-down.
4. Click on "Virtual Learning Commons." You will then return to the main-page of the module that you are in.
5. In the list of your module's activities you will see the hyperlinked words "Virtual Learning Commons." Click on the hyperlinked words, not the arrow.
6. In the subsequent drop-down menu select "LibGuides - vlc.ucdsb.ca"
7. In the drop-down menu below, called "Content Type," select: Databases for Specific Subject - this will give you a list of all of the VLC databases for your ON Curriculum Subject area.
**If you choose this option, D2L will require that you select the ON Curriculum Subject area that your course falls into.
