LibGuides: Virtual Learning Commons Resources in D2L: Instructional Tools

Online Support for Teachers

Need help with the VLC?

SUBMIT your question by clicking on the icon above

SOUMETTEZ votre question

E-MAIL/COURRIEL

TEXT/TEXTEZ: 613-704-0144

TWEET/TWEETEZ: @ucdsbvlc

All High School/Secondary Guides

All VLC Databases

Visit this link then click on

"All Subjects" and filter the

list by the ON Curr. Subject Area

for your course.

Instructional Tool #1: Subject Guides

Subject Guides contain suggested information databases, link/urls, videos, media, activities, recommended software and apps, as well as lesson plans and activities all aligned to ON Curriculum grade and subject area.

High School Subject Guides
Learning Commons staff have curated both paid information databases and free online materials that align to ON curriculum. Each curriculum course strand is represented by a different page in a Subject Guide.

Example: Find Teacher Tools per Grade & Subject Area in Subject Guides

Instructional Tool #2: Databases

Databases provide access reliable information, educational games, and lesson-planning materials in multiple formats, including text-to-speech, video, and audio. Citation tools, text enlargement, and other features are also available.

Databases
The vast majority of our paid databases, represented by a small lock next the title.

***NOTE: Logins are required to access these databases from home. Please contact your LCI to get a VLC bookmark.

Example: Find Databases Contents Aligned to the ON Curriculum

Once you have found the database that you wish to use, via the VLC "Games & Databases" page or a Subject Guide, simply login, then you will likely locate a link that either states "Teacher Resources/Librarian Resources" or "Curriculum Strands."