Sacred Stories - Grade 11 - World Religions and Belief Traditions: Issues, and Challenges - LibGuides at Upper Canada Virtual Library

Suggested Databases: UCDSB VLC

Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Over 40,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographical information, overviews, criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all periods and from around the world.
Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Database of books, authors, genres and topics to help you find your next book to read!
Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada This link opens in a new window
Reference maps of Indigenous Canada, information and historical photos on Truth and Reconciliation, First Nations, Metis & Inuit Peoples, as well a glossary of common Indigenous terms.
Indigenous Storybooks This link opens in a new window
EN/FR/Multilingual open-licensed stories from Little Cree Books. Available online, audio & downloadable pdf.
Big Timber Indigenous eBooks (French) This link opens in a new window
Gr3-8 French-language eBooks. Includes the series: 'La communauté' and 'La vie autochtone au Canada : au passé, au présent et au futur'

21 Century Canadian Connections

21 Century Canadian Connections:

The Wampum Belt

Teacher prompts: “Why is the Haienwtha Belt (wampum belt) categorized by some as both a form of sacred writing and an oral teaching?”

Language Nest

Read A Loud - Tie IN

Top Picks: Videos, Links, Websites - Why A Good Book is a Secret Door - TED/ED

I want to learn more: Databases & Video Links

Our VoicesOur Story
If the legends fall silent,
who will teach the children of our ways?
—Chief Dan George, My Heart Soars
Storytelling the Art of Knowledge
The First Peoples of Canada recognize certain members of their communities for their ability as storytellers. The skillful art of storytelling is passed down from one generation to another by chosen, recognized or hereditary storytellers.
Some stories are shared at certain times of the year, in designated areas and on special occasions. As well, parents, family members and Elders share their knowledge with the younger generations in the course of their daily activities.
Celebrating Great Canadian Storytelling
The Historica-Dominion Institute Honours Diamond Jubilee Recipients
Tuesday June 26, 2012—Toronto, ON—The Historica-Dominion Institute recognized the accomplishments of thirty-eight remarkable Canadians who received Diamond Jubilee Medals for their outstanding contributions in their fields. The recipients of this honour, who were nominated by the Institute for their work in sharing Canadian stories and experiences, include authors Lawrence Hill and Lee Maracle, actor Paul Gross, filmmakers Clement Virgo and Charles Officer, singer-songwriter Mike Ford and artist Scott Waters.
Storytelling Overview from the First Nations Pedagogy
Folklife and Fieldwork
One of our most important functions is maintaining one of the world's
largest archives of folklife materials, including songs, stories, and creative
expressions of people from throughout the United States and around the world

Digging Deeper: Websites for further research

Key Terms - Define & explain.

Key Terms: Mythology, Legends, Storytelling, Sacred Text, Creation stories The Bhagavad Gita, The Great Law of Peace of the Longhouse, People, the Qur’an, The Jatakas, The Kojiki, The Mishnah, The New Testament

DK Learning This link opens in a new window
DK Learning classroom resources have you covered with free teaching materials, like ready-to-go educational printable activities and teaching packs. Our website for teachers equips educators with the tools they need to bring every lesson to life.

Religion Dictionary - The Learning Center
Browse Categories Browse Alphabetically Most Popular Newest Additions Measurement Wizard Question Bank Syntax Repository Search Archive Site Tutorials

Digging Deeper:: The Art of Storytelling - Menza 4 Kids

The Art of Storytelling

Download this extension

Menza For Kids The Art of Storytelling
Storytelling is an ancient and valuable art that extends around the globe. In this unit, students develop their own storytelling talents, apply the techniques of storytelling, create storytelling guides, and perform a story for an audience.
Menza for KIds: Introduction to Greek Mythology
Although when we think of mythology we think of a collection of stories, there is a beginning to them. Understanding the beginning of the story, the creation of the world, gives us a framework to build upon as we learn about the different myths.
Pixar's 22 Rules of Storytelling
These rules were originally tweeted by Emma Coates, Pixar’s Story Artist. Number 9 on the list - When you’re stuck, make a list of what wouldn’t happen next – is a great one and can apply to writers in all genres.

Storytelling is an ancient and valuable art that extends around the globe. In this unit, students develop their own storytelling talents, apply the techniques of storytelling, create storytelling guides, and perform a story for an audience. This unit can be taught to an entire classroom or given as a self-directed extension activity. Each lesson is quite short, and they can easily be combined.

GUIDING QUESTIONS - MenzaforKids

Where did storytelling originate?
What are the benefits of storytelling?
What are the key features of a well-told story?
How does a storyteller develop a story to prepare it for an audience?
How can a storyteller develop and refine his/her storytelling ability.

Grade 11 - World Religions and Belief Traditions: Issues, and Challenges: Sacred Stories