It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Grade 11 - World Religions and Belief Traditions: Issues, and Challenges: Rite & Observances
This course enables students to study world religions and belief traditions in local, Canadian, and global contexts. Students will explore aspects of the human quest for meaning and will examine world religions and beliefs.
Educational programming, collections, teacher resources, Ontario curriculum alignment etc. from CBC Learning and Radio-Canada Contenus éducatifs . Includes News in Review. Available in English & French
English and French Canadian periodicals; Full text articles; Selections from the Globe and Mail, Maclean’s weekly magazine; Canadian News Facts; and encyclopedic reference materials, such as the Canadian Parliamentary Guide and Canadian Newsmakers
Une ressource en ligne bilingue et gratuite, et la seule encyclopédie nationale établie de son genre au monde, offre la plus grande collection d’articles précis, continuellement mis à jour et axés sur l’histoire et la culture canadienne.
French/English. A comprehensive and authoritative general Canadian reference work. Also includes quizzes, games, multimedia, and links to other resources.
21 Century Canadian Connections
Canada Vignettes: St. Laurent: ” “How does the construction of a sweat lodge reflect the understandings and beliefs of First Nation people about the natural world?” “ ( Hmanities: On. Curr. Doc.)
This very short film from the Canada Vignettes series documents the annual pilgrimage that members of Saskatchewan’s Métis Catholic community make to St. Laurent, a village in the Duck Lake area that became the Métis nation’s spiritual centre at the time of the 1885 Northwest Rebellion.
Teacher Prompt - How are Aboriginal people’s attitudes towards the environment and the earth a reflection of their larger belief tradition?”
Read A Loud - Tie IN
Having fled from war in their troubled homeland, a boy and his family are living in poverty in a strange country. Food is scarce, so when the boy’s father brings home a map instead of bread for supper, at first the boy is furious. But when the map is hung on the wall, it floods their cheerless room with color. As the boy studies its every detail, he is transported to exotic places without ever leaving the room, and he eventually comes to realize that the map feeds him in a way that bread never could.
How Do I: Please type your question into the Ask box.
Top Picks:: Videos, Key Word Searches, & Links...
Identify various sacred places that are destinations for pilgrims (e.g., Jerusalem, Mecca, Varanasi) and explain the difference between a pilgrimage (e.g., the hajj) and other types of spiritual journey (e.g., the vision quest)
Teacher prompts “Why has Jerusalem been a focal point of pilgrimage?” “How do pilgrims to Varanasi express reverence?” “Why is there no specific place that a First Nation male must visit during his vision quest?”b (Humanities: Curr. Doc.)
Demonstrate an understanding of symbols, art, and literature associated with rites of passage in various religions and belief tradition.Explain how the journey of life can be seen as a quest for meaning, and identify common questions associated with the search for meaning and purpose in life.
Teacher prompt: “What do you think the meaning or purpose of life is?” “How might your understanding of your life’s purpose change as you get older?” ( Humanities: Curr. Doc.)
Holiday Music from Around the World
Holiday music traditions such as Christmas, Hannukah, and Kwanzaa feature an incredibly diverse range of musical accompaniment. The Holiday Music Map from Smithsonian Folkways includes 56 songs from 24 nations. Listen to them all in a row, or take a self-guided tour!
TRAVELERS CAN TAKE PART IN SOME OF THE BIGGEST AND MOST TRANSFORMATIVE FESTIVALS ON THE PLANET
A good party draws a crowd. That’s certainly true of some of the world’s top religious festivals. Several countries and cities host celebrations that bring thousands—even millions—of people together for spiritual enlightenment and communal prayer.
Looking for something to read? Project Gutenberg eBooks are mostly older literary works. Most were published before 1924, with some published in the decades after. Use one of the Search methods on this page, or try using the Bookshelves to browse by genre, age group, and topic.
The First Peoples of Canada recognize certain members of their communities for their ability as storytellers. The skillful art of storytelling is passed down from one generation to another by chosen, recognized or hereditary storytellers.
First Nations, Inuit, and Metis cultures have long passed on knowledge from generation to generation through oral traditions, including storytelling. Storytelling is a traditional method used to teach about cultural beliefs, values, customs, rituals, history, practices, relationships, and ways of life. First Nations storytelling is a foundation for holistic learning, relationship building, and experiential learning.
One of our most important functions is maintaining one of the world's
largest archives of folklife materials, including songs, stories, and creative
expressions of people from throughout the United States and around the world.
This is a free visual encyclopaedia with videos, quizzes, activities, and teacher lesson planning tools. Subjects include: animals, nature, computer coding, Earth, English/Language, world history, the human body, math, art, music, art, literature, science, space, sports, transportation and more!
Various man made structures represent the style and spirit of a country. Some of the Canadian landmarks are obvious such as the Parliament buildings in Ottawa or Province House in PEI where it all began, and some are not s obvious such as Anne Shirley's house, Green Gables or the grain elevators of the prairies.
Open a world of reading with the UCDSB collection of eBooks, audiobooks and read alongs from OverDrive. Your virtual book library all in one! Download the Sora app to your phone or device - its easy to read!