LibGuides: Grade 9 and 10: Food and Nutrition: Local and Global Foods

Suggested Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects.
Britannica High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for high school students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.
Teen Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts This link opens in a new window
English/French. The Culinary Arts Collection includes 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as reference content. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information

Find more databases
Use this link to find more databases to support your learning

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

Use the following tools to help determine if the resource you are using is trustworthy.

Evaluating Online Health Information
Some tips for evaluating health information you find on the internet, from the National Institutes of Health.
Flocabulary-Source Evaluation-Can I trust it?
Watch this fun rap video from Flocabulary to learn about evaluating websites.
How do I evaluate websites & information sources?

Resource Evaluation: The CRAAP Test
Use this evaluation checklist to determine if a resource is worthwhile. Does your book, website, magazine article pass the CRAAP Test?

You won’t believe how much food is grown in Canada!
Earth Rangers is the kids’ conservation organization, dedicated to educating children and their families about biodiversity
Ontario’s local food report, 2021 edition
Gov't of Ontario. Rural and North.
Food Importers and Food Import Trends in Canada – Best Food Importers 2023 Update
BestFoodImporters was born in 2009, four years after the launch of our first successful project: BestWineImporters.
Farmers' Market Vs. Grocery Store Produce — What to Buy Where
Allrecipes.com, Inc. is a food-focused online social networking service headquartered in Seattle, Washington.
Sources of Food
At Toppr, students are at the centre of our universe. We believe that every student is different and has different learning needs.

Bad news: Eating local, organic won't shrink your carbon footprint
CBC News is Canada's publicly owned news and information service.
Student Nutrition Program
Gov't of Ontario. Home and Community.
Healthy eating and the environment
Gov't of Canada. Food and Nutrition.

The Ultimate Guide to Food Security 2021
Canadian Feed the Children - To unlock children's potential through community-led action in Canada and around the world.
Why is there food insecurity in Canada?
Canadian Feed the Children.
Household Food Insecurity in Canada
PROOF is an interdisciplinary research team investigating household food insecurity in Canada.
Federal support to improve food security in Eastern Ontario
Greenhouse Canada is the only national business magazine published exclusively for commercial greenhouse growers in Canada.