LibGuides: Grade 9 and 10: Food and Nutrition: Introduction

Ontario Curriculum

Ontario Curriculum - Social Sciences and the Humanities
For HFN1O/2O, Gr. 9/10 Food and Nutrition, please see pg. 152.
First Nations, Métis and Inuit Connections--Scope and Sequence of Expectations--Secondary

Gr. 9-12: Teacher Resources

Teacher Resource

AgScape
Curriculum-linked food literacy programs and resources for Ontario's educators and students

Gr. 9-12: Send us your work

Email: vlc@ucdsb.on.ca

Introduction

Welcome to Grade 9/10 Food & Nutrition

“The doctor of the future will no longer treat the human frame with drugs, but rather will cure and prevent disease with nutrition.” -Thomas Edison

Get an Overview: Reference Sources

Suggested Keywords: nutrition, food, vitamins, supplements, health, diet, herbs, natural, nutrition facts, fat, sugar, vegetables, protein, mineral, fruit, carbohydrate, gram, serving, milk, calories, grains, dairy.

Britannica High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for high school students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.
Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts This link opens in a new window
English/French. The Culinary Arts Collection includes 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as reference content. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information
Teen Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
This database was developed for teens, with their unique concerns in mind. Curricular support and self-help on topics including diseases, drugs & alcohol, nutrition, mental and emotional health, sexuality, cyber literacy, family life…

Health Canada
Canada.ca is the Government of Canada's digital presence. The goal of this site is to make it easier for Canadians to find and understand Government of Canada information and services.
SELF Nutrition Data
Since its launch in 2003, Nutrition Data has grown into one of the most authoritative and useful sources of nutritional analysis on the Web.

Canada's Food Guide Plate

Gr. 9-12: Games & Databases

Gr. 9-12: How do I share & stay safe online?

LCI

Julia Vandemheen

eTextbooks

Human Nutrition - BC Campus Open Ed.
The goal of the project was to make higher education more accessible by reducing student cost through the use of openly licensed textbooks.