LibGuides: Grade 8: Math: Algebra

Suggested Databases

Mathematics Professional Learning Tool

Gizmos Mathematics This link opens in a new window
Gizmos are interactive math simulations for grades 9-12. Over 400 Gizmos aligned to the latest standards help educators bring powerful new learning experiences to the classroom. (REGISTRATION NUMBER REQUIRED FOR HOME DOWNLOAD)
Math Homework Help - TVO Mathify This link opens in a new window
TVO Mathify. Chat tutor help, interactive tutorials, mini-lessons supporting students in grades 7-12 math.
Britannica Middle School Edition This link opens in a new window
Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for intermediate students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.

Find more databases

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

Gr. 7-8: Send us your work

Email: vlc@ucdsb.on.ca

Top Picks

Watch the award-winning series "Math Dude!" Mike DeGraba, from Montgomary County Public Schools, provides a fun and helpful way to learn all about algebra.

Download the podcasts here or by clicking on the image!

Purple Math
The best math/algebra website out there! It includes step-by-step lessons, along with videos and calculators.
Easy Algebra
Making Algebra easier.
Writing Algebraic Equations
Let's look at some examples of writing algebraic equations.
Free Math
algebra lessons written by FreeMathHelp.com
Virtual Lab
Algebra online.
The World of Math Online
The World of Math Online.
Hippocampus - Algebra & Geometry
Teaching with the Power of Digital Media.
Math World
The word "algebra" is a distortion of the Arabic title of a treatise by al-Khwārizmī about algebraic methods. In modern usage, algebra has several meanings.
Manipulatives Algebra
Virtual manipulatives for Algebra.

Want to learn more?

Algebra help
A collection of lessons, calculators, and worksheets created to assist students and teachers of algebra.
Algebra Homework Help
Algebra, math homework solvers, lessons and free tutors online.

Coding

VLC Virtual Makerspace Subject Guide

Gr. 7-8: Ask Us/Demande Moi

Gr. 7-8: How do I find out about my topic?

Gr. 7-8: How do I create & cite my work?

What do we learn in Patterning and Algebra?

Representing the general term in a linear sequence, using one or more algebraic expressions;
Translating statements, using algebraic equations;
Finding the term number in a pattern algebraically when given any term;
Solving linear equations involving onevariable terms with integer solutions using a “balance” model.