Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Grade 12 - World History from the 15th Century CHY-4C: THE WORLD, 1789–1900

World History since theFifteenth Century, Grade 12 - both CHY4U & CHY4C. Students will explore social, economic, and political changes, the historical roots of contemporary issues, and the role of conflict and cooperation in global interrelationships.

Suggested Databases - UCDSB: Virtual Learning Common's

Canadian developments in world history context: On this Date in Canada:1789

Sample questions: “How did colonies benefit imperial powers? Did these benefits extend to colonized peoples? If not, why not?” “How was the establishment of the Métis nation related to the exploration and colonization of North America?” “In what ways do people today continue to be affected by colonial policies or practices dating from this period?”

This short film tells the tale of the men who drove big freighter canoes into the wilderness in the days when the fur trade was Canada's biggest business. The film recreates scenes of the early 19th century with a soundtrack by an all-male chorus.

This short film explores the effect the war of 1812 had on pioneer settlements of the Upper St. Lawrence and Niagara regions. When Britain and the United States were at war, the feud spilled over into Canada, and farmers who had worked together to clear their land had to decide on which side their allegiance lay. When many took up arms to defend their new land against the "Yankee" marauders, a feeling of Canadian identity began to emerge.

APRIL 18, 1775

MILITARY/REBELLIONS 

American War of Independence Begins

 

War breaks out between Great Britain and the Thirteen Colonies, which declared independence as the United States of America. During and after the American Revolutionary War, tens of thousands of Loyalists — American colonists of diverse backgrounds who support the British cause — migrate to British North America.

In a pounding critique of Canada's colonial history, this short film draws parallels between the annihilation of the bison in the 1890s and the devastation inflicted on the Indigenous population by the residential school system.

This film is part of Souvenir, a series of four films addressing Indigenous identity and representation by reworking material in the NFB's archives.

JANUARY 01, 1831

INDIGENOUS PEOPLES  SOCIAL HISTORY 

First Residential School Opens

 

The first residential school for Indigenous children, the Mohawk Institute in Brantford, ON, opens. By separating children from their families, the goal of residential schools is to assimilate children into European-Canadian society. For over a century, generations of students are subjected to emotional and physical abuse within the residential school system.

Isaac Brock

INDIGENOUS PEOPLES  MILITARY / REBELLIONS 

Battle of Queenston Heights

 

The Americans cross the Niagara River and attack the heights of Queenston. With his sword in hand, Major-General Isaac Brock leads his troops into battle and is wounded to death. When it becomes obvious that the Americans will lose the battle, the Mohawk warriors of Grand River, led by John Norton (or Teyoninhokarawen) prevent the latter from fleeing before the arrival of reinforcements led by Major-General Roger Sheaffe, alongside whom they can then force more than 1,000 American soldiers to surrender.

Heritage Minute - Cartier

1789-1841 The period of rigorous scientific, political and philosophical discourse that characterised European society during the ‘long’ 18th centur

Victorian Era: Framing Questions

Framing Question: To what extent were the social, political, and economic ideas of this time a continuation of or a departure from earlier ones?

Framing Question: What was the impact of nationalism during this period?

Learn about famous historical figures

Want To Learn More: Exploring Biographies

 Sample questions: “What criteria would you use to assess the contributions of Abraham Lincoln to citizenship and heritage in the United States? Why would Americans in the North and slaves in the South likely have had a different view of his accomplishments than white Southerners would have had?” 

Assess the impact of new social, economic, and/or political ideas on various societies during this period (e.g., with reference to the ideas of Mikhail Bakunin, Karl von Clausewitz, Frederick Douglass, Thomas Malthus, Karl Marx, John Muir, Herbert Spencer, Harriet Taylor and John Stuart Mill, Henry David Thoreau; the Five Charter Oath; Romanticism, Darwinism, liberalism, communism, anarchism)

 Explain the role of some key political figures in various societies during this period, and assess their contribution to the development of identity, citizenship, and/or heritage in those societies (e.g., Muhammad Ahmad, Abd al-Hamid, Otto von Bismarck, Napoleon Bonaparte, Empress Dowager Cixi, Giuseppe Garibaldi, Toussaint L’Ouverture, Louis Riel, Emperor Meiji, Robespierre, Raja Ram Mohan Roy, Maharaja Ranjit Singh, Tecumseh, Queen Victoria

Read A Classic

Search for a book on your SORA - App.

 

Key Terms - Define and Explain

DEscribe and Explain: key economic events, issues, and/or developments in various regions during this period, with a particular focus on the Industrial Revolution, and assess their impact (e.g., with reference to the rise of capitalism and laissez-faire economics, particularly in the West; the growth of the middle class in industrializing countries; the formation of trade unions and/or cooperatives in response to working conditions in factories; changes in trade patterns; economic exploitation of colonies; economic protectionism and reciprocity)

 Describe a variety of developments/achievements in science and/or technology during this period, and assess their impact on various societies (e.g., with reference to vaccinations for smallpox and other diseases, pasteurization, the stethoscope, still and motion cameras, the telegraph, the Braille writing system, the cotton gin, the sewing machine, the typewriter, dynamite, the steampowered rotary engine, the diesel-fuelled combustion engine; the publication of Darwin’s The Origin of the Species.

Advanced Searches from your School's " Destiny ". Catalog

One Search results for (french revolution) Printer Friendly  
Databases searched: 4   Selected List: My List

Show
National Geographic
Found 145 results for "french revolution"
It is one of the largest non-profit scientific and educational institutions in the world. Its interests include geography, archaeology and natural science, the promotion of environmental and historical conservation.


Show
CIA World Fact Book
Found 1987 results for "french revolution"
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.


Show
Encyclopedia of Earth
Found 83 results for "french revolution"
Encyclopedia of Earth


Show
Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online
Found 461 results for "french revolution"
The Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online provides access to the 15 volumes already in print and to a selection of biographies from unprinted volumes. The biographies are fully searchable by keyword

Victorian Era - Quiz

Quiz yourself on the Victorians!

Think you know about life in Victorian Britain? Take our true or false quiz to see if you can score 10/10! 

How Do I ?

Do Background Reading

Photo credit: Angela, license Creative Commons 

Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?

Gr. 9-12: Send us your work

Email: vlc@ucdsb.on.ca

Locate Books