Historical Inquiry and research - Grade 12 - World History from the 15th Century CHY-4C - LibGuides at Upper Canada Virtual Library

Suggested Databases

Insert the "Best Bet" databases for this subject area. Ensure that there are at least 3, but no more than 5 databases suggested.

The below databases are just examples.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects.
Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.

Find more databases

How to [write a 5 paragraph essay]

A team of historians have been trying to solve some historical "cold cases" -- old crimes in which the guilty ones walked, and even more insidious crimes where a whole village may have been complicit. There are other mysteries too, about unusual cases from the Viking age to the Klondike Gold Rush.

provide non-instructional assignment support (e.g. writing techniques for various kinds of assignments like speeches, essays, presentations, poems, etc.) as well tools to assist students in accomplishing their work (e.g citation machines, information on how to create a map/graph/chart, etc.)

https://canadianmysteries.ca/en/index.php

Great Unsolved Mysteries in Canadian History
The "Great Unsolved Mysteries in Canadian History" project provides engaging, high-quality materials to schools and universities for the teaching of historical methods and Canadian History. It is also used in a wide variety of other courses including law, language, literature, aboriginal issues and many others. The project, based at the University of Victoria, the Université de Sherbrooke and the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education at the University of Toronto, has created a series of instructional websites based on the premise that students can be drawn into Canadian history and archival research through the enticement of solving historical cold crimes. All the material is provided free as a public service.

Want to learn more?

The "Want to learn more?" box should contain an additional 5-10 resources that pertain to the corresponding strand of the Ontario curriculum.

How do I select a "want to learn more" resource vs. a "top pick resource:

a 'want to learn more' resource will correlate directly to this strand of the curriculum, however, it may only relate to one specific area, versus multiple areas
the list of 'want to learn more' resources does not have to be multi-format (e.g. it could include just a list of annotated website links)

Careers

Skills learned in history are beneficial for the following careers:

Editor
Journalist
Lawyer
Mediator
Museum Curator
Politician
Teacher
Actor
Community Worker
Musician
Tour Guide

Chroniciling American History
Chronicling America (ISSN 2475-2703) is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH award program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territori
Idea Book
The current issue features select primary sources from The Library of Congress that are related to the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment to the Constitution of the United States as well as the campaign for women’s voting rights. The photographs, newspapers, speeches and manuscripts featured within provide an overview of the movement and the key people involved.

Top Picks: Historical Research Process

SPECIFIC EXPECTATIONS A1. Historical Inquiry Throughout this course, students will: A1.1 formulate different types of questions to guide investigations into issues, events, and/or developments in world history (e.g., factual questions: What was the Black Death?; comparative questions: What were some similarities and differences in the decline of the Aztec and Inca Empires?; causal questions: What were the main causes of World War I?)

On each page insert a box at the top of the page entitled "top picks". This box will provide access to the 'best' resources available for that strand of the curriculum; in total there should be 5-7 "top picks" provided. These resources must include:

a visual item (an image or video) - this needs to be the first item at the top of the box
- Note: if you have access to student work that pertains to this curriculum area, it can be used in a gallery box that appeas directly above the "top picks" box
- Please ensure that the size of the video or image is no larger than approx. 600-700 (width) x 300-400 (height).
links to authoritative websites
recommended terms to use in a Destiny search

You also have the option of including links to educational activities, documents to download, and other types of materials that may be of interest to users.

How do I select a "top pick" vs. a resource for "want to learn more"?

Top picks should include comprehensive resources, covering the greatest extent of the subject area
Top picks should include attractive resources that will peek the interest of users
Top picks should, overall, cover multiple formats - links to websites (text), audio/video, files to download, etc.
Top picks are only instructional. This means that they explain a topic to the user. They do not include tools on how to do certain kinds of assignments (e.g. how to write an essay/speech/poem/book report, or citation machines, how to draw a map, etc.)

Virginia Tech
For Harry Potter and his compatriots, history lessons at the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry took the form of brain-deadening encounters with a subject that appeared devoid of inquiry, imagination, interpretation, and personal meaning. This kind of history teaching, however, is not merely the 'stuff of fiction.' Lamentably, the teaching and learning of history as an officially sanctioned, neatly packaged chronicle of facts, people, and events, too often continues to be the experience of current students
Think Like a Historian
The Think Like a Historian series is a tool for educators and students to build skills to analyze and interpret primary sources.

In this series, we look at photographs, newspapers, and personal letters from the Battle of Vimy Ridge.
Think Like a Historian
The Think Like a Historian series is a tool for educators and students to build skills to analyze and interpret primary sources.

Click to download

Seven steps to a powerful Heritage Fair project

This online guide, developed by the BC Heritage Fairs Society in partnership with TC², helps teachers support students with their heritage fair projects. It offers suggestions for how to help students choose and refine a topic of personal and historical significance, dig deeply and critically into that topic, connect their findings with broader themes, social issues and “big ideas” in the curriculum and creatively share their conclusions in a public forum.

Grade 12 - World History from the 15th Century CHY-4C: Historical Inquiry and research

Suggested Databases

How to [write a 5 paragraph essay]

Want to learn more?

Careers

Top Picks: Historical Research Process

Gr. 9-12: How do I cite my sources?

Gr. 9-12: Ask Us/Demande Moi

Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?

How Do I ?

Find Books on this Subject

VLC Bookmark