LibGuides: Grade 11: Housing and Home Design (HLS30): Social, Economic, and Legal Considerations

Suggested Databases

Environmental Studies In Context This link opens in a new window
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals) This link opens in a new window
Government of Canada: Departments, Agencies & Crown Corporations This link opens in a new window
ON-Core : Core Curriculum On-Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming and downloadable video, 100% Canadian and aligned to the Ontario Curriculum.

Find more databases
This link provides a listing of all available databases for your learning and research.

Grade 11 and 12 Construction Technology
by Andrea Lorz Last Updated Dec 2, 2024 238 views this year
Grade 12: Families in Canada
by Julia Vandemheen Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 44 views this year
Grade 12 World Cultures
by Sheila Cornelisse Last Updated Dec 19, 2024 178 views this year
Grade 12: Challenge and Change in Society (HSB4U)
by Richard Halfyard Last Updated Nov 12, 2024 807 views this year

Centretown Citizens Ottawa Corporation
CCOC Mission Statement Centretown Citizens Ottawa Corporation is a community-based, tenant and member directed, non-profit housing organization whose mission is to create, maintain and promote housing for low and moderate income people
Government of Canada: Fuel and Energy Efficiency
This link includes services and information on energy-efficient products, housing, buildings, industry, transportation, fuel prices, statistics and analysis, communities and infrastructure, grants and financial incentives.
Practical Money Skills - info, activities, games and teacher resources
Financial Literacy for Everyone

What groups are particularly vulnerable to homelessness?

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

The Ontario Human Rights Code
The Ontario Human Rights Code
Accessibility for Ontario with Disabilities Act
The Accessibility for Ontario with Disabilities Act
Green Roofs: City of Toronto Bylaws
Find out which developments require a green roof, get information on the Green Roof Construction Standard, find out what you need to know if you are going to build a green roof in Toronto.
Financial & Legal Information for Renting
The Canadian Mortgage and Housing Corporatio provides access to the provincial acts, legal requirements, and practical financial information about renting.
Housing Market Information Portal
The Canadian Mortgage and Housing Corporation provides this amazing resources that will help you compare neighbourhoods, housing types, costs, market information, and more!

Idea Sketch
Idea Sketch is a free app that lets you easily draw a diagram - mind map, concept map, or flow chart - and convert it to a text outline, and vice versa. You can use Idea Sketch for anything, such as brainstorming new ideas, illustrating concepts, making lists and outlines, planning presentations, creating organizational charts, and more!
Popplet
With Popplet, you can add pictures, texts and ideas to organize your thoughts in a visual way.

Inspiration software

Don't forget the Inspiration software found on all UCDSB computers.

This program is for visual learning:

graphic organizers, concept mapping, mind mapping, outlining, webbing, and plots and graphs.

Suggested search terms for Destiny:

What do you think an environmentally friendly dwelling will look like in the future?

Why?

What urban planning changes do you think will occur in the future?

Why?