LibGuides: Grade 11: Housing and Home Design (HLS30): Housing Needs

Suggested Databases

Find more databases
This link provides a listing of all available databases for your learning and research.

Stats Can App
Download Stats Can App for the most current information available
Study: Senior care: differences by type of housing: 2012
This link has statistics on the differences in types of housing for senior care, 2012.
2016 Census - Type of dwelling
Look at dwelling data sets from the 2016 census. You can look up information for Canada as a whole, or by province or territory.
2016 Census: Housing, Income and residential dissimilarity among Indigenous people in Canadian cities.
This study explores Indigenous housing data.

What factors would you need to consider if you were researching the costs of renting versus owning a home?

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs
Maslow's hierarchy of needs is a motivational theory in psychology comprising a five-tier model of human needs, often depicted as hierarchical levels within a pyramid....

Where would the need for housing fit in Maslow's hierarchy of needs?

click the image for further information about Maslow's hierarchy of needs

Financial Consumer Agency of Canada
Compare and choose the financial products and services that suit your needs. Save time and money with our interactive tools.

Housing in Ontario
This link is about living in Ontario. Learn about renting or buying a house; subsidized housing, home safety and housing for seniors.
What kinds of housing are common in Ontario?
A listing of common housing found in Ontario. Includes information on apartments, condominiums, duplex, triplex and more.
Housing in Canada
This link includes information on housing in Canada. Topics include temporary housing and types of housing.
Also included are links to further reading on renting a home, buying a home in Canada, basic services and more.
Also included is a housing video with information on renting a home, lease agreements, rights and responsibilities and more.

Indigenous Life in Canada: Past, Present, Future: Housing and Infrastructure by Simon Rose, Kathleen Corrigan
Call Number: 363.5 ROS
ISBN: 9781773087979
Publication Date: 2021
Includes information on Indigenous People's living conditions, infrastructure, housing, and government initiatives.

Suggested search terms for Destiny:

What impact does climate have on people's housing needs?

Idea Sketch
Idea Sketch is a free app that lets you easily draw a diagram - mind map, concept map, or flow chart - and convert it to a text outline, and vice versa. You can use Idea Sketch for anything, such as brainstorming new ideas, illustrating concepts, making lists and outlines, planning presentations, creating organizational charts, and more!
Popplet
With Popplet, you can add pictures, texts and ideas to organize your thoughts in a visual way.

Inspiration software

Don't forget the Inspiration software found on all UCDSB computers.

This program is for visual learning:

graphic organizers, concept mapping, mind mapping, outlining, webbing, and plots and graphs.