LibGuides: Grade 11: Housing and Home Design (HLS30): Creating and Maintaining Living Spaces

Suggested Databases

Britannica High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for high school students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.
Environmental Studies In Context This link opens in a new window
Database of analysis, journals, news, case studies, primary sources, statistics and multimedia focusing on the physical, social and economic aspects of environmental issues.
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals) This link opens in a new window
English and French Canadian periodicals; Full text articles; Selections from the Globe and Mail, Maclean’s weekly magazine; Canadian News Facts; and encyclopedic reference materials, such as the Canadian Parliamentary Guide and Canadian Newsmakers
ON-Core : Core Curriculum On-Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming and downloadable video, 100% Canadian and aligned to the Ontario Curriculum.

Find more databases
This link provides a listing of all available databases for your learning and research.

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

What would happen if missing roof shingles were not promptly replaced?

Why is it important to properly caulk a bathtub/shower?

Blueprinter.com
Design your house plan blueprints online with smallblueprinter, then take a 3D walkthrough your design, check out an isometric view and print out your plan.
Its free and easy to use.
Floorplanner.com
Floorplanner is an easy and great-looking way to create and share interactive floorplans online. Whether you're moving into a new house, planning a wedding or reorganizing your living room, Floorplanner has the right tools for you. With Floorplanner you can recreate your home, garden or office in just a few clicks and furnish your plans with our huge library of objects.
Houzz.com - How to Arrange Furniture
Guideline for furniture arrangement, including space & distance requirements.
31 Kitchen Design Rules
Basic design standards from the National Kitchen & Bath Association (United States), includes standards for Universal Design (accessibility)
IKEA 3D Kitchen Planner
"Draw it, build it and get a full 3D view of a designed Ikea kitchen"
Ontario Job Futures
Learn about different jobs related to housing, construction, the trades, real estate, and more!
Canadian Job Bank
What do the employment opportunities for construction, interior design, or architectural design look like? Search for real jobs now!

Google Sketchup
Start by drawing lines and shapes. Push and pull surfaces to turn them into 3D forms. Stretch, copy, rotate and paint to make anything you like. If you want to be productive within a couple of hours, you’ve come to the right place. Download the Full Version...
Dimensions to Follow: Proper Furniture Spacing Basics
From the collective wisdom at Apartment Therapy. Basic dimensions and rule of thumb spacing requirements when arranging furniture.

Suggested search terms for Destiny:

What types of professionals are involved in the development, design, construction, and purchase of a new home?

Which are involved in home maintenance?

Idea Sketch
Idea Sketch is a free app that lets you easily draw a diagram - mind map, concept map, or flow chart - and convert it to a text outline, and vice versa. You can use Idea Sketch for anything, such as brainstorming new ideas, illustrating concepts, making lists and outlines, planning presentations, creating organizational charts, and more!
Popplet
With Popplet, you can add pictures, texts and ideas to organize your thoughts in a visual way.

Inspiration software

Don't forget the Inspiration software found on all UCDSB computers.

This program is for visual learning:

graphic organizers, concept mapping, mind mapping, outlining, webbing, and plots and graphs.