LibGuides: Grade 6: Social Studies: People and Environments: Canada’s Interactions with the Global Community

Suggested Databases

Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada This link opens in a new window
Britannica Elementary School Edition This link opens in a new window General encyclopedia, atlas, dictionary and thesaurus covering a wide range of topics. Information is presented using text, audio, videos and images. Each article also contains links to explore more on the topic
Britannica Middle School Edition This link opens in a new window Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for intermediate students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.
Canada in Context This link opens in a new window Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.
Canadian Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window French/English. A comprehensive and authoritative general Canadian reference work. Also includes quizzes, games, multimedia, and links to other resources.
Gale in Context: Middle School (formerly Research in Context) This link opens in a new window For students Gr. 6-10, this visual database provides information, videos, and more on world cultures, science, politics, famous people (biographies), governments, world history, social issues, technology, literature, and more!
ON-Core : Core Curriculum On-Demand This link opens in a new window
Videos on important topics in Canada
DK Learning This link opens in a new window DK Learning classroom resources have you covered with free teaching materials, like ready-to-go educational printable activities and teaching packs. Our website for teachers equips educators with the tools they need to bring every lesson to life.
Our Incredible World This link opens in a new window For students Gr. 4-11, this interactive resource offers videos, articles, and games focusing on habitats, ecosystems, biodiversity, species-at-risk, and invasive species. Teacher resources are also provided.

Find more databases

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

How to Graph Data

Key Words to Search in Databases

Globalization

United Nations

NATO

Global Warming

Deforestation

Ozone layer

Emissions

Top Picks

Native Land
The Canadian Social Studies Super Site This is a limited annotated list of websites for Canadian social studies educators, and those interested in Canada, carefully examined for their quality and use.
National Geographic Education
Eco Kids

Want to Learn More?

Canada and World Connections:

Canada's Links to the World

Canada's Major Trading Partners - literacy skills based on this topic

CIA World Fact Book - detailed information about all the countries of the world.

Trading Around the World – An online Trading Game

Trade Data Online Access data on Canadian imports and exports

[excerpts from http://www.tldsb.on.ca/laptop/Websites/Grade6SocialStudies.htm]

Canada and International Cooperation

North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) This site is jointly produced by the governments of Canada, the United States, and Mexico. It is available in English, French and Spanish.
Canada and the Asia-Pacific
The APEC summit and Canada’s reputation in Asia
Canada and APEC

Kids Go Global
World Health Organization (WHO) The official website of the World Health Organization as of 2014.
North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada website. Historical and current information on Canada's participation in NATO.
Permanent Mission of Canada to the United Nations Canadian Government website.
NGO Links Alphabetic listing of NGOs affiliated with the United Nations
International Organizations and Forums Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada website
The United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous People From Amnesty International

OEC: Canada (CAN) Profile of Exports, Imports and Trade Partners Observatory of Economic Complexity. Graphs and charts of Canada's trade statistics.
Canada and Its Trading Partners - Pathfinder: KidSpace: Toronto Public Library Links to resource sites through the Toronto Public Library
Global Affairs Canada

International Contributions - Environment Canada
Canada's Action on Climate Change
Water - Environment Canada
Discover Your Water Footprint Canada Water Week Infograph
Live Science: Deforestation: Facts, Causes & Effects
Fisheries and Oceans Canada: Global Consequences of Overfishing
Canada and International Fisheries
Wildlife Habitat - Environment Canada
Nature Works Everywhere
A series of virtual field trips presented by The Nature Conservancy "to help students learn the science behind how nature works for us—and how we can help keep it running strong."

Our Incredible World This link opens in a new window For students Gr. 4-11, this interactive resource offers videos, articles, and games focusing on habitats, ecosystems, biodiversity, species-at-risk, and invasive species. Teacher resources are also provided.

How the Government of Canada Responds to Natural Disasters Abroad
How the Canadian Red Cross Responds to International Emergencies Red Cross Canada website
The Disaster Assistance Response Team (DART) The Disaster Assistance Response Team (DART) is a multidisciplinary military organization designed to deploy on short notice anywhere in the world in response to situations ranging from natural disasters to complex humanitarian emergencies. It is one component of Canada’s toolkit to respond to natural disasters abroad. [from the website] National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces
The Nestlé Cocoa Plan Nestlé Canada has launched a global cocoa sustainability initiative to leverage Nestlé’s agricultural and scientific know-how to improve the quality and yield of the cocoa plants. At the same time, Nestlé will be training and educating local farmers and helping them increase their income by improving the quality and productivity of their harvests.
Charting Change: an ongoing series about innovative projects in the developing world
A partnership between Canada's International Development Research Centre and Canadian Geographic