LibGuides: Grade 6: Social Studies: Heritage and Identity: Communities in Canada, Past and Present

Suggested Databases

Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada This link opens in a new window
Britannica Elementary School Edition This link opens in a new window General encyclopedia, atlas, dictionary and thesaurus covering a wide range of topics. Information is presented using text, audio, videos and images. Each article also contains links to explore more on the topic
Britannica Middle School Edition This link opens in a new window Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for intermediate students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.
Canada in Context This link opens in a new window Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.
Canadian Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window French/English. A comprehensive and authoritative general Canadian reference work. Also includes quizzes, games, multimedia, and links to other resources.
Gale in Context: Middle School (formerly Research in Context) This link opens in a new window For students Gr. 6-10, this visual database provides information, videos, and more on world cultures, science, politics, famous people (biographies), governments, world history, social issues, technology, literature, and more!
DK Learning This link opens in a new window DK Learning classroom resources have you covered with free teaching materials, like ready-to-go educational printable activities and teaching packs. Our website for teachers equips educators with the tools they need to bring every lesson to life.

Find more databases

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

How to Begin Tracing Your Family Tree

Step-by-Step Guide to Tracing Your Family Tree How To Begin Tracing Your Family Tree By Kimberly Powell Genealogy Expert

Top Picks

Love to Know - Canada Facts for Kids Cool things to know about Canada Cool things that come from Canada Cool people from Canada ... and more
The Canadian Social Studies Super Site This is a limited annotated list of websites for Canadian social studies educators, and those interested in Canada, carefully examined for their quality and use.
Discover Canada Complete document available to read online, download as a pdf (in regular and large print), and in audio format.
The Atlas of Canada
Canada had three founding peoples, not two Social Sharing Facebook Twitter Reddit LinkedIn Email - CBC
Louis Riel - Canadian Encyclopedia
'Riel was a hero, not a traitor' - Winnipeg Free Press
Digital Archive of Ontario
Digitised current and historical holdings of the Toronto Public Library.
NFB Legacies 150 playlist
"The films in our Legacies 150 playlist explore themes closely related to our Legacies 150 interactive photo essays, which reflect on legacy and inheritance a century and a half into Canadian Confederation."

Want to learn more?

Family - The Canadian Encyclopedia

Communities

Letters from the Past
Historica Canada Learning Tools. Write a fictitious letter as if they are a pioneer in the Canadian west in the early part of the twentieth century.
To Walk a Mile in Your Shoes
Historica Canada Learning Tools. Develop the concept of citizenship and immigration by requiring students to explore, reflect, and empathize with the situations and feelings that new immigrants experience.
First Nations in Canada

Ethnic Diversity

Canadian Encyclopedia - Ethnic Identity

Top 15 Ethnic Origins of Canadians (2006)

Ethnic Origin	Total Responses*	Percent of Population
English	6,570,015	20.2
French	4,941,210	15.3
Scottish	4,719,850	14.4
Irish	4,354,155	13.5
German	3,179,425	9.8
Italian	1,445,335	4.3
Chinese	1,346,510	4.0
North American Indian	1,253,615	4.0
Ukrainian	1,209,085	3.7
Dutch	1,035,965	3.1
Polish	984,565	3.0
East Indian	962,665	2.9
Russian	500,600	1.5
Welsh	440,965	1.3
Filipino	436,190	1.3

Sources: Statistics Canada, 2008
* Respondents were permitted to provide multiple responses to the question of their ethnic origin, as well as decline to respond.

World Holidays

The Kids Book of Canadian Immigration by Deborah Hodge; John Mantha (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781553374848
Publication Date: 2006-08-01

Classroom Activities for: The Kids Book of Canadian Immigration "Use these cross-curricular activities to engage your students in thinking about Canada’s past and present, and about the people who have come here from many countries of the world."
A BOOK OF Poems: Expressions from our Youth A collection of the winning poems and honourable mentions from the 2009 Refugees and Human Rights Child and Youth Poetry Contest. Written by children and youth from grades 4 to 12 living in the Greater Toronto Area.
Immigration and Ethnocultural Diversity in Canada
Statistics Canada