LibGuides: Grade 11: English: Writing

Suggested Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects.
Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Database of books, authors, genres and topics to help you find your next book to read!

Inter-disciplinary Databases

Are you studying current affairs, controversial issues, a historical event, an environmental concern, or another topic that ties into your English class?

Try one of these databases:

Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Middle School (formerly Research in Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: High School (formerly Student Resources in Context) This link opens in a new window
Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies In Context This link opens in a new window
Science in Context This link opens in a new window

Find more databases here.

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

Writer's Toolkit

Top Picks

How to Write an Essay: Step by Step--VIDEO TRANSCRIPT

How to create a venn diagram in MS Word and PowerPoint

General writing tips--Illinois University Writing Center
This handbook from Illinois University includes parts of speech (nouns, verbs, adjectives, adverbs, conjunctions, prepositions, and interjections), phrases, clauses, sentences, sentence elements and common usage problems.

Dictionary.com
Dictionary, thesaurus, translation tool all in one place. Learn the meaning, origin and so much more. Expand your vocabulary today!
Citation: MLA Formatting and Style Guide
For citation, MLA is most commonly used to cite sources for papers within the liberal arts and humanities. From Purdue OWL.
Always check with your teacher for format prior to working on an assignment.

Want to learn more?

Essay map
This interactive helps students develop an outline for an expository essay. (scroll to top)
Expository essay
This link has information on expository essays--what they are and what you need to do.
Narrative essay
This link has information on what a narrative essay is and how to write one.
Descriptive essay
This link is about descriptive essays and how to write them.
Analysing a short story
Click this link to learn how to analyse a short story.
Credit: Lumen
Storyaday.org
Story starters with archives for writing prompts.

Find Books on this Subject

Suggested search terms for Destiny:

bias
communication studies
media studies
social media
mass media

Gr. 9-12: Ask Us/Demande Moi

Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?

Gr. 9-12: How do I cite my sources?

Get Organized

Idea Sketch
Idea Sketch is a free app that lets you easily draw a diagram - mind map, concept map, or flow chart - and convert it to a text outline, and vice versa. You can use Idea Sketch for anything, such as brainstorming new ideas, illustrating concepts, making lists and outlines, planning presentations, creating organizational charts, and more!
Popplet
With Popplet, you can add pictures, texts and ideas to organize your thoughts in a visual way.

Inspiration software

Don't forget the Inspiration software found on all UCDSB computers.

This program is for visual learning:

graphic organizers, concept mapping, mind mapping, outlining, webbing, and plots and graphs.