LibGuides: Grade 11: English: Reading and literature studies

Suggested Databases

Sora (OverDrive) This link opens in a new window
Open a world of reading with the UCDSB collection of eBooks, audiobooks and read alongs from OverDrive. Your virtual book library all in one! Download the Sora app to your phone or device - its easy to read!
ON-Core : Core Curriculum On-Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming and downloadable video, 100% Canadian and aligned to the Ontario Curriculum.
Britannica High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for high school students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.
Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Database of books, authors, genres and topics to help you find your next book to read!
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects.
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals) This link opens in a new window
English and French Canadian periodicals; Full text articles; Selections from the Globe and Mail, Maclean’s weekly magazine; Canadian News Facts; and encyclopedic reference materials, such as the Canadian Parliamentary Guide and Canadian Newsmakers
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographical information, overviews, criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all periods and from around the world.

Find more databases
Use this link to find more databases to support your learning.

Inter-disciplinary Databases

Are you studying current affairs, controversial issues, a historical event, an environmental concern, or another topic that ties into your English class?

Try one of these databases:

Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Middle School (formerly Research in Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: High School (formerly Student Resources in Context) This link opens in a new window
Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies In Context This link opens in a new window
Science in Context This link opens in a new window

Find more databases here.

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

How to cite your sources

Citation Machine
Citation Machine automatically generates citations in MLA, APA, Chicago, or Turabian style.
EasyBib
Create accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago style citations in seconds by scanning a book bar code or by typing the name of a book.

Top Picks

Literary Lenses--Part 1 VIDEO TRANSCRIPT

Literary Lenses--Part 2 VIDEO TRANSCRIPT

Lit Theory 2--Psycho Analytic Lens--VIDEO TRANSCRIPT

eNotes
1000's of literature study guides at the click of a button.
Homework help, study tools that include literature guides, quizzes, eTexts, Research paper topics and more.

Shakespeare
by Linda Cummings Last Updated Dec 5, 2022 49 views this year

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 40,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

Want to learn more?

How and Why we Read--VIDEO TRANSCRIPT

Making Inferences--VIDEO TRANSCRIPT

Everything Shakespeare
This link contains Shakespeare's complete works, summaries, the history of William Shakespeare as well as links to further resources.
No Fear Shakespeare
This link pairs Shakespeare's language side-by-side with a facing-page translated into modern English.

Find Books on this Subject

Suggested search terms for Destiny:

literature
English
Shakespeare

Gr. 9-12: Ask Us/Demande Moi

Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?

Gr. 9-12: How do I cite my sources?

Get Organized

Idea Sketch
Idea Sketch is a free app that lets you easily draw a diagram - mind map, concept map, or flow chart - and convert it to a text outline, and vice versa. You can use Idea Sketch for anything, such as brainstorming new ideas, illustrating concepts, making lists and outlines, planning presentations, creating organizational charts, and more!
Popplet
With Popplet, you can add pictures, texts and ideas to organize your thoughts in a visual way.

Inspiration software

Don't forget the Inspiration software found on all UCDSB computers.

This program is for visual learning:

graphic organizers, concept mapping, mind mapping, outlining, webbing, and plots and graphs.

Grade 11: English: Reading and literature studies

Gallery