LibGuides: Grade 10: Civics and Citizenship: Strand A: Political Inquiry and Skill Development

Suggested Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects.
Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Canadian Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
French/English. A comprehensive and authoritative general Canadian reference work. Also includes quizzes, games, multimedia, and links to other resources.
Ontario Government Documents This link opens in a new window
Access 26,000 government documents from the collection of the Ontario Legislative Library. Simple searching, or browse by titles, by ministry/agency, authors, subjects, or years.
Ontario Educational Resource Bank This link opens in a new window
Resources made available in the Ontario Educational Resource Bank (OERB) are created by Ontario teachers for Ontario teachers and students.

Find more databases

Curio.ca This link opens in a new window

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

How to: Graphic Organizers

Graphic organizers for Secondary Students

Wikipedia Tutorial

Wikipedia: Beneath the Surface
Tutorial video from NCSU Libraries

Critical Thinking

Wikipedia: How to Evaluate it and Use it Wisely

Links
Video

Top Picks

The Canadian Social Studies Super Site This is a limited annotated list of websites for Canadian social studies educators, and those interested in Canada, carefully examined for their quality and use.

Evaluating Internet Resources

Evaluate Web Resources Research Guide
Algonquin College

Primary or Secondary Resources - University of Victoria
Bad News
A game that tests your news sense

Want to learn more?

Learn About Parliament

Find Books on this Subject

Suggested search terms for Destiny:

political inquiry
credibility of sources
organizational skills
data analysis
communication skills

Open Library

A Web of Knowledge - Miscellaneous Sites

Canadian Encyclopedia
Created by the Historica Foundation and posted free, this site is an authoriative guide for Canadian biographies, historical and political information and includes exerpts from Maclean's magazine.
The Atlas of Canada
Municipal Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (Ontario)
Official Document (last updated 2007)
Nations Online
Visit the world! Facts, figures and more about all countries with links to informative sources inside each country.
Statistics Canada
Great website for current information and lets you create graphs and charts with your information easily.
World Factbook
Created and maintained by the CIA, this site gives facts and figures about countries around the world.

Inquiry Skills

Newspapers and Magazines

CBC News
The Toronto Star
The Canoe - CNews
Canadian social media newspaper highlighting current news, sports, entertainment, trivia, commerce, business.
The Globe & Mail
TVO Current Affairs

Gr. 9-12: Ask Us/Demande Moi

Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?

Ontario Skills Passport

Ontario Skills Passport - The Ontario Skills Passport (OSP) provides clear descriptions of Essential Skills and work habits important for success in work, learning and life.

Gr. 9-12: How do I cite my sources?

How to: Write a Paper / Essay

Writing a paper
Simple guidelines to essay writing prepared by Kidshealth.
How write an essay
Check out the video at the end of this newly-edited Wikipedia entry.
EasyBib Citation Guides
Students choose their citation style and scroll to the topic.

How do I
by Patricia Sutherland Last Updated Apr 9, 2024 363 views this year