Skip to Main Content

Grade 11: Music: Creating and Performing

Curriculum based information on music, its theory, its genre and practice and how music effects the world around us.

Suggested Databases

Britannica High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for high school students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Magazines & journals supporting research in aras such as dance, drama, music, art, history and filmmaking.

Find more databases

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

Music Composition Software

Crescendo: Music Notation Software
Free Download!
Finale: Music Notation Software
Includes Free Trial Download
Maestro Music
Software for musicians and music notation and composition. Includes free trial download
Notation Software
PreSonus: Music Notation for iPad
Sibelius: Music composition and notation software
Provides a free trial download.

Top Picks

TSO Online Learning
Toronto Symphony Orchestra

Elements of Music for Composition

Tempo, Rhythm, Dynamics, and Notation

Phrasing in music composition

Music Theory - Phrasing

Rhythm, Tempo, and Dynamics

The Four Elements of Music: Melody, Harmony, Rhythm and Dynamics

Choral Composing

Singing with correct articulation and tone.

Learn to Sing Correctly

Articulation and Singing

Breath Control in Singing

Want to Learn More?

Online Music Comprehension

Gr. 9-12: Ask Us/Demande Moi

Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?

Gr. 9-12: How do I cite my sources?