LibGuides: Grade 7-8 Health & Phys. Ed.: Making Healthy Choices

Suggested Databases

Teen Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
This database was developed for teens, with their unique concerns in mind. Curricular support and self-help on topics including diseases, drugs & alcohol, nutrition, mental and emotional health, sexuality, cyber literacy, family life…
Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts This link opens in a new window
English/French. The Culinary Arts Collection includes 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as reference content. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information
Digital Compass This link opens in a new window
For students Gr. 6-9,this Common Sense Media digital citizenship game helps students explore digital dilemmas, and make good (and not-so-good) decisions. In this gaming environment can experiment with different solutions through stories and mini-games without risking their real-world reputations.

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

Are you stressed out? Check out some of these resources to help you get it under control.

Muslim Youth Helpline - Naseeha
Muslim Youth Helpline provides a confidential youth helpline for young Muslims to receive immediate, anonymous, and confidential support over the phone from 6 – 9 pm, Monday to Friday (Eastern Standard Time). Launched in 2006, Naseeha is a telephone support line for young Muslims in North America, to talk about, and work through their issues with trained counsellors.

My Food Guide servings tracker
"Are you on the right track? Print the My Food Guide Servings Tracker and use it to keep track of the amount and type of food you eat each day. Compare it to recommendations in Canada's Food Guide."

Please see your school's LCI for registration information

MyHealth Magazine
"MyHealth Magazine is a health and wellness program delivered through a series of interactive, online resources for young people."

Cyber bullying--10-12 year olds
This pamphlet by the WITS program has information on internet safety, cyberbullying and understanding the law.
iSmart pamphlet for teens
This pamphlet has information to help you make smart choices to keep you safe while using the internet.

https://kidshelpphone.ca/