LibGuides: Grade 2: Language: Media Literacy

Databases

Prezi - Presentation Software This link opens in a new window
Cloud-based dynamic presentation software.
Kids Infobits (Gale in Context - Elementary) This link opens in a new window Research support for students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Jam-packed with eye popping graphs, charts, maps and more than 3,000 searchable images, InfoBits features a visual graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, magazine and reference content

Find more databases

Britannica Elementary School Edition This link opens in a new window
General encyclopedia, atlas, dictionary and thesaurus covering a wide range of topics. Information is presented using text, audio, videos and images. Each article also contains links to explore more on the topic

Find more databases

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

Suggested Search Terms for Destiny

media, newspapers, magazines, advertising

Teacher Resources for Media Literacy Strategies

Prediction and Inference
Language in Advertising Media
Common Sense Media
Calgary Herald: Newspaper in Education The activities here are tried-and-true newspaper activities for the classroom. Whether studying the newspaper itself, using it as a research tool, or using the daily Herald as a creative catalyst, these activity sheets are for educators to use with their students.
Creating Newspapers in the Classroom
Teaching Kids News

Top Picks

How do I find out about media influences?
DOGO News
Time for Kids
Weebly Interactive - Language Arts
CBC Kids News
Topics will range from news and sports to pop culture and the environment, approached in a "safe and age-appropriate manner."

Want to learn more? Watch kids cartoons from around the world.

NFB - International Kids Cartoons
Created for children aged 5 to 9, the Talespinners cartoons use vibrant animation to bring popular stories from a wide range of cultural communities to the screen. Usually 7 or 8 minutes in length, these animation films tackle a vast array of issues – from asthma to immigration and literacy to cultural traditions – in fun, colourful ways.

Book Suggestions: Books about Media and Media Awareness

These are just a few of the books listed in the UCDSB Destiny Catalogue. They may not be available in your particular school. Feel free to contact your Learning Commons Informationist for assistance in obtaining these materials.

Bias in the Media by Hal Marcovitz Young people today are inundated with information but often lack the tools for understanding the complex issues that stir public debate and dissension. The Hot Topics series provides clear, balanced, and thoughtful examination of the hot-button issues of the day. Carefully crafted narrative, fully documented primary and secondary source quotations, informative sidebars, and study questions all provide excellent starting points for research and discussion. Full-color photographs, maps, and charts enhance all volumes in the series. Book jacket.
ISBN: 1420502247
Publication Date: 2010-04-16
Celebrity and Fame by Judith Anderson Discusses the media treatment of celebrities and famous people worldwide, including issues of media pressure, privacy, discrimination, and scandals.
ISBN: 9781607531128
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
Journalism for Beginners by Joan Clayton
ISBN: 0749920262
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
Based on Joan Clayton's acclaimed journalism courses, this practical book will turn aspiring writers into full- or part-time journalists by the time they have turned the last page. This revised and updated edition includes information on the latest technology, legal issues, and changes in the workplace.
All Because of a Cup of Coffee by Geronimo Stilton; Matt Wolf (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0439559723
Publication Date: 2004-08-01
Enter the world of Geronimo Stilton, where another funny adventure is always right around the corner. Each book is a fast-paced adventure with lively art and a unique format kids 7-10 will love.

I, Geronimo Stilton, was in love! I went out for a cup of coffee one morning and laid eyes on the most beautiful rodent I'd ever seen. Unfortunately, I immediately tripped over my paws and ended up with my tail in a toaster! I was one mortified mouse. But I was determined to prove that I wasn't a complete stumblemouse. So I decided to join my family on their most daring adventure yet -- a journey to the eighth wonder of the world! There I made a discovery so truly amazing, I knew I could win the heart of my darling ratlette....
The Berenstain Bears and the School Scandal Sheet by Stan Berenstain (Illustrator); Jan Berenstain (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0679858121
Publication Date: 1994-03-01
Illus. in black-and-white. The cubs of Bear Country School learn something about freedom of the press--and the responsibilities that go with it--when they put outThe Cub Reporter,an underground newspaper that gives the teachers and administration a failing grade.
Boys Rock! by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
ISBN: 9780385731409
Publication Date: 2005-10-11
Wally Hatford dreams of long lazy days far away from school and Caroline Malloy. But Wally, the best speller among the Hatford brothers, gets roped into helping them with a summer newspaper project that will earn the twins school credit. What does that get Wally? When he hears scratching noises coming from Oldakers’ bookstore cellar, Mr. Oldaker trusts him to keep a secret that could turn into a scoop for their newspaper. Wally worries that the secret may be too scary to keep to himself. What’s worse, the Malloy girls have horned in on the newspaper. If there’s one person Wally won’t spill his secret to, it’s nutty Caroline Malloy. No matter what it is! From the Hardcover edition.
Ellen Fremedon by Joan Givner
ISBN: 9780888996688
Publication Date: 2005-08-03
An aspiring yet practical author, Ellen Fremedon decides to start a newspaper. Ellen is intrepid, especially when it comes to investigative reporting. Is the new neighbor sinister, as village gossips suspect, or merely secretive? Is the Fremedon's new housekeeper really the upstanding community member she appears to be? Even members of Ellen's own family fall under suspicion.
Extra! Extra! by Alma Flor Ada; Leslie Tryon (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780689825828
Publication Date: 2001-02-01
When the residents of Hidden Forest wake up and open their morning papers, they are in for a surprise.
An enormous beanstalk has mysteriously sprouted outside of Jack Blake's house, and Jack is nowhere to be found. Meanwhile, Pinocchio and Half-Chicken have set out on adventures of their own, and Tortoise and Hare are off to the races. Will they all find their happy endings? Hidden Forest News has got the scoops.

Written and laid out in newspaper format, this installment in the enchanting Hidden Forest series has received a new twist from Alma Flor Ada and Leslie Tryon. All of your favorite fairy-tale characters from Dear Peter Rabbit; Yours Truly, Goldilocks; and With Love, Little Red Hen are back, but this time they are hitting the presses and making headlines!
Fairytale News by Colin Hawkins (Illustrator); Jacqui Hawkins (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0763621668
Publication Date: 2004-03-08
Stop the presses! Favorite fairy tales merge in a clever concoction that will crack kids up faster than Humpty Dumpty!

Have you heard the news? The notorious B.B. Wolf was arrested today wearing Granny Hood’s nightgown! As he went free on bail, an angry Little Pig shouted, "That’s the last straw!" Meanwhile, Goldilocks’s three victims report that they’re bearing up well. Read this and more in the exclusive, hilarious FAIRYTALE NEWS, complete with a pun-filled, pull-out newspaper tucked in a handy pouch. On sale now!
Girl Reporter Blows Lid off Town! by Linda Ellerbee
ISBN: 0060282452
Publication Date: 2000-03-01
Girl Reporter Trapped in Body of Eleven-Year-Old Girl!Meet Casey Smith, girl reporter extraordinaire. Sniffing out news? Casey will Rollerblade through the principal's office to get a scoop. There's just one obstacle: the perky, popular, people-pleasing Megan O'Connor, whose idea of a good story is something that makes you feel gooey inside.
And this is the kid Casey is supposed to team up with to publish a school newspaper? "Get Real."""
World's Dumbest Signs, Ads, and Newspaper Headlines by Daniel Jankowski; Tangerine Press Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 0439801052
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Collection of actual signs, ads, and newspaper headlines that are inadvertently humorous.

K-Gr. 6: Ask Us/Demande Moi

K-Gr. 6: How do I find out about my topic?

K-Gr. 6: Games & Databases

Newspapers and Magazines

Organize your ideas:

What is Mind-Mapping?

Mind mapping is a way to organize your ideas. It is used to help you brainstorm ideas. Brainstorming is just thinking of creative ideas to help you answer a question or solve a problem.

Mind Mapping Tools for You: