Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
myON Personalized Digital Library
Over 5,900 enhanced digital books, including nonfiction, novels, and graphic novels . Includes Nelson’s Indigenous series Under one Sun and Circle of Life. With myON, students choose from recommendations based on their interests and reading level or browse the full library available under a school subscription.
Britannica Elementary School Edition
General encyclopedia, atlas, dictionary and thesaurus covering a wide range of topics. Information is presented using text, audio, videos and images. Each article also contains links to explore more on the topic
Open a world of reading with the UCDSB collection of eBooks, audiobooks and read alongs from OverDrive. Your virtual book library all in one! Download the Sora app to your phone or device - its easy to read!
Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.
Talk to your LCI today!
Teacher Resources for Reading Strategies
PBS Interactive Whiteboard Games
Here is our collection of interactive whiteboard games for educators on PBS KIDS. Students will enjoy participating in these collaborative, fun and engaging experiences, while exploring curriculum from trusted programs such as Curious George, Super Why and Arthur. Like our programs, all of our games are age-appropriate and vetted by educators.
Into the Book
Online interactive activities and videos
Language activities, games, and videos will help students with grammar, sentence structure, spelling, and and more.
English - Topmarks
These Language games will help students in K-.Gr. 8. Students will be able to practice their spelling, punctuation, phonics, reading, writing, and listening skills.
Find Similar or Opposite words at WordHippo
Oh ... There's a bunch of other stuff you can do too.
Want to learn more? Try these eBooks & eBook Databases!
Book Suggestions: Books about Reading
These are just some of the books listed in the UCDSB Destiny Catalogue. They may not be available in your particular school. Feel free to contact your Learning Commons Informationist for assistance in obtaining these materials.
Suggested Search Terms for Destiny:
Arthur's Prize Reader by
Publication Date: 1978-10-11
"You can't read," Arthur tells his little sister Violet. "Yes I can" she says.She proves it when Arthur enters the Super Chimp Comics sales contest. Arthur hopes to win a dinner for two with King Kong. The results are comic but not for poor Arthur. Violet understands the words describing the contest better than Arthur does. And it is Violet who wins a prize, because she really can read.Lillian Hoban's three-color pictures bubble with warmth and humor. Every child with an older brother or sister will delight in Violet's triumph. And in her friendliness too, as she lets her "reading teacher," Arthur, share her prize.
Arthur's Reading Race by
Publication Date: 1996-06-11
Arthur promises to buy ice cream for his little sister, D.W., if she can read ten words. The twosome race to the park, where D.W. is quick to recognize signs such as ZOO, DON'T WALK, POLICE, and ICE CREAM. When she reads WET PAINT before her big brother does, Arthur is in for a colorful surprise!
A Bedtime Story by
Publication Date: 1996-03-01
Polly & Bed Rabbit look forward to a bedtime story from their parents.
A. Nonny Mouse Writes Again! by
Publication Date: 1993-07-13
Illus. in full color. In this exuberant sequel toPoems of A. Nonny Mouse,Ms. Mouse has again enlisted the assistance of Jack Prelutsky to help her reclaim poems previously attributed to "Anonymous." Here are 52 more of her easiest-to-memorize poems--the kind kids love to say over and over again--plus four of Jack's very own. "There's something here for every taste--all enlivened by Marjorie Priceman's fluid, inviting watercolors."--(starred)Horn Book. From the Trade Paperback edition.
The Bee Tree by
Publication Date: 1998-05-04
When Mary Ellen gets bored with her reading, Grandpa knows a hunt for a bee tree is just what she needs. Half the town joins the exciting chase, but it's not until everyone returns home that Mary Ellen makes a discovery of her own: Sometimes, even the sweetest of things must be worked for. ?Polacco has created another charming picture book featuring a child learning from a grandparent in an idyllic pastoral setting?Both the writing and artwork are fresh and inviting.' ? School Library Journal, starred review ?The newest gem from Polacco's treasure chest of family stories extols the virtue of reading'and of taking a study break.'Like Mary Ellen, readers will emerge refreshed from this respite, ready to seek out new adventures.' ? Publishers Weekly ?Young readers will savor this.'? ? The Horn Book Patricia Polacco lives in Union City, MI.
The Best Book to Read by
Publication Date: 2008-06-24
THE LITTLE BOY who loves to read is back, and this time he and his classmates are visiting a big public library! In their signature catchy, rhyming verse, Debbie Bertram and Susan Bloom give readers a taste of the variety of books that can be found at the library. Michael Garland’s bright, graphic illustrations bring to life the array of fantastic and hilarious scenes that can result from finding the best book to read!
K-Gr. 6: Ask Us/Demande Moi
K-Gr. 6: How do I find out about my topic?
K-Gr. 6: Games & Databases
Newspapers, Magazines, Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Organize your ideas:
What is Mind-Mapping?
Mind mapping is a way to organize your ideas. It is used to help you brainstorm ideas. Brainstorming is just thinking of creative ideas to help you answer a question or solve a problem.
Mind Mapping Tools for You:
Don't forget Inspiration and Kidspiration software found on all UCDSB computers. This program is for visual learning:
graphic organizers, concept mapping, mind mapping, outlining, webbing, and plots and graphs.