Skip to Main Content

Grade 9: Issues in Canadian Geography: Liveable Communities

This course examines interrelationships within and between Canada’s natural and human systems and how these systems interconnect with those in other parts of the world.

Suggested Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Britannica High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies In Context This link opens in a new window
Canadian Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window

Find more databases

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

Key Word Search Terms

human systems
sustainability
transportation
energy consumption and production
economy
communities
urban growth, urban sprawl, urban planners
land use in a community, land use patterns (and natural environment influences)
waste disposal, recycling
interrelationship of built and natural environments
spatial connections - community, regional, national, global

Top Picks

Ontario Healthy Communities Coalition - Education Publications
Green Communities Canada
WXY Studio
W X Y is an award-winning multi-disciplinary practice specializing in the realization of urban design, planning and architectural solutions focused on innovative approaches to public space, structures and urban issues.

Waste Disposal in Canada

Waste Management of Canada
Environment Canada:Pollution and Waste
Conference Board of Canada: Municipal Waste Generation
The Canadian Encyclopedia: Waste Disposal
Understanding Waste from a Climate Change Perspective: Municipal Solid Waste Management in Canada A Thesis Submitted to the Faculty of Graduate Studies In Partial Fulfillment of the Requirements For the Degree of Master of Natural Resource Management Natural Resources Institute University of Manitoba Winnipeg, Manitoba May, 2009
Radioactive Waste
Nuclear Waste Management Organization

Urban Sprawl - Perspectives

David Suzuki Foundation
Statistics Canada: Urban sprawl and its relationship with active transportation, physical activity and obesity in Canadian Youth
Alberta Health Services: Urban sprawl and health
Office of the Auditor General of Ontario: Reports on Environment
Canadian Institute of Planners - Policy and Advocacy Climate Change, Housing, Transportation, Indigenous Planning, Urban Design, Healthy Communities, International Outreach

Human Systems

The Geography of Transport Systems
"The Geography of Transport Systems" by Jean-Paul Rodrigue (2013). Excerpts taken from this resource MUST be cited.
The Canadian Encyclopedia: Transportation

Adaptation Platform: Natural Resources Canada

Gr. 9-12: Ask Us/Demande Moi

Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?

Gr. 9-12: How do I cite my sources?

The Future of Food

A collection of resources edited and compiled by National Geographic, focusing on the global future of food and the sustainability of feeding our growing planet.

Energy Consumption in Canada

Spatial Ecology and Spatial Connections

Spatial Ecology and Conservation The Nature Education Knowledge Project
Fortin's LE Lab - Research University of Toronto - Current research projects using spatial ecology framework. Provides links to other resources.