LibGuides: Grade 9: Issues in Canadian Geography: Managing Canada’s Resources and Industries

Suggested Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects.
Britannica High School Edition This link opens in a new window Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for high school students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.
Canada in Context This link opens in a new window Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.
Environmental Studies In Context This link opens in a new window Database of analysis, journals, news, case studies, primary sources, statistics and multimedia focusing on the physical, social and economic aspects of environmental issues.
Our Incredible World This link opens in a new window For students Gr. 4-11, this interactive resource offers videos, articles, and games focusing on habitats, ecosystems, biodiversity, species-at-risk, and invasive species. Teacher resources are also provided.

Find more databases

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

Key Word Search Terms

natural resources
industry
ecology
ecological footprint, global footprint
environment, energy
agriculture
forests
food production
stewardship
exports, imports, trade
sustainability
renewability
biodiversity

Renewable Energy

Canadian Wind Energy Association

Non-renewable Energy

Canadian Nuclear Association
One stop resource for all things nuclear. Educational resources, lesson plans, videos

Top Picks

Invest in Canada - Canada's Industries
Natural Resources Canada - Energy Sources and Distribution
Natural Resources Canada - About Renewable Energy
Sustainable Forest Management in Canada
Produced by the Canadian Council of Forest Ministers
National Research Council
National Research Council Website
Clean Energy Ideas
Save On Energy Learning Center
Nature Canada
Let's Talk Energy
Matmatch
Access reliable material data.
Evaluate and compare materials.

Ecological Footprint

Environment Canada
CBC News: WWF report criticizes Canada's ecological footprint
Link to full report provided on webpage
Global Footprint Network
Federation of Canadian Municipalities: Ecological Footprints of Canadian Municipalities and Regions (2005)
Human Footprint Education: National Geographic Education
Natural Resources Canada - Welcome to the Idle-Free Zone Natural Resources Canada has developed ready-to-use graphic materials, articles, tools and templates that can help you organize a public education campaign at your workplace or develop a larger-scale awareness and outreach campaign in your community about the effects of vehicle idling.
Connect to Earth
Canadians get creative in solving food waste problem

Stewardship

Stewardship in Canada
Land Stewardship Centre
Stewardship Ontario
Electronics Product Stewardship Canada
Forest Stewardship Council FSC Canada
Wetlands Stewardship in Canada Contributed Papers from the Conference on Canadian Wetlands Stewardship - 2003
The Canadian Encyclopedia: Environmental and Conservation Movements
The Canadian Cattlemen's Association - Sustainability
Stewardship Ontario

Canada's Protected Areas

Infographic: Canada's protected areas

Visualize all of the parks, wildlife areas, forest and marine reserves across Canada to compare how much of each province and territory has been protected

*Statistic includes marine protected areas and marine portions of terrestrial protected areas.

Walker. “Infographic: Canada's Protected Areas.” Canadian Geographic, 2 Feb. 2017, www.canadiangeographic.ca/article/infographic-canadas-protected-areas. Accessed 27 Apr. 2017.

Industry

Weber's Location Triangle
From "The Geography of Transport Systems"
Barcelona Field Studies Centre: Location of Industry Factors
Industry Canada - Canadian Industry Statistics (CIS)
Natural Resources Canada : The Atlas of Canada - Explore our Maps Discover the country’s geology, its important water resources, its protected areas, and its ecology. Learn about Canada’s land cover with maps on relief, vegetation, ecozones, permafrost and surficial materials. Find out where natural hazards such as avalanches, volcanoes and major floods prevail in Canada. Observe Canada’s climate and how it is likely to change over the next century.
Canadian Industrial Trends - 16 Industry Sector Service Reports Produced by the Conference Board of Canada

Crude Oil - Natural Resources Canada
Refining and Petroleum Products - Natural Resources Canada
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
Resources of the Hydraulic Fracturing Industry in Canada: Oil and Gas Info Discusses Canada's petroleum industry, hydraulic fracturing, and oil-based products

Industry Canada - Manufacturing Sector Gateway Find Manufacturing Industries: Aerospace and Defence Automotive Biopharmaceuticals and Pharmaceuticals Chemicals Hydrogen and Fuel Cells Medical Devices Plastics Primary Metals Rubber Shipbuilding and Industrial Marine Textiles
Canadian Manufacturing - e-Newsletter

Industry Canada - Science and Technology

The Canadian Advantage Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Includes a series of videos about Canada's main agricultural industries - meat, horticultural, grains and oilseeds, and dairy.
Digital Soil Map of the World Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Soils of Canada The Canadian System of Soil Classification

Industry Canada - Service Industries

Getting to GREENR Blog

Gr. 9-12: Ask Us/Demande Moi

Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?

Gr. 9-12: How do I cite my sources?

Biodiversity

Redpath Museum - McGill University
"The Redpath Museum is an academic unit of McGill University. Its mandate is to foster understanding and appreciation of the diversity of our biological, geological, and cultural heritage through scientific research, collections-based study, and education."(https://www.mcgill.ca/redpath/about)