Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Britannica Elementary School Edition
General encyclopedia, atlas, dictionary and thesaurus covering a wide range of topics. Information is presented using text, audio, videos and images. Each article also contains links to explore more on the topic
French/English. A comprehensive and authoritative general Canadian reference work. Also includes quizzes, games, multimedia, and links to other resources.
Research support for students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Jam-packed with eye popping graphs, charts, maps and more than 3,000 searchable images, InfoBits features a visual graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, magazine and reference content
Research database for emerging readers in grades K-3 covering animals and earth & space. Enriched with spoken-word audio, text highlighting and audio and video clips
Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.
Talk to your LCI today!
K-Gr. 6: Send us your work
Why did animal mascots accompany the soldiers?
For centuries, military troops have had animal mascots for a variety of reasons, including comfort, pride and to help break the monotony of living in a military camps. A number of different animals have "served" during times of war including dogs, cats, camels, chipmunks, eagles just to name a few types. The Stormont Dundas & Glengarry Highlanders from Eastern Ontario had a canine (dog) mascot named Uniformity who went overseas with the soldiers in 1941. Of course visitors to Fort Henry in Kingston have seen the goat mascot that the Fort Henry guard have.
Information on Animal Mascots
Tales of Animals at War
Grades K - 6 Learning Resources: Created by Veterans Affairs Canada, available in French and English.
*Contains stories of the heroic things that animals did during war: information for students & activities for teachers.
Animals in WWI & WWII
Source: Canadian War Museum
K-Gr. 6: Ask Us/Demande Moi
K-Gr. 6: How do I find out about my topic?
Winnie the Pooh
A picture of Lt. Colebourn with the "real" Winnie
The statue is of the bear Winnie, who was to be immortalised as Winnie the Pooh. The statue was presented to London Zoo by the people of Manitoba through their Government on 19th July 1995. The plaque reads:
Winnie and Lt. Colebourn
by Bill Epp
presented by the people
unveiled July 1995
K-Gr. 6: How do I create & cite my work?