LibGuides: Teacher Resources: Digital Resources Supporting Elementary &amp; Secondary Curriculum

Introduction

STAFF RESOURCE-DIGITAL RESOURCE FOR FRENCH INSTRUCTION (Elementary and Secondary)

This document contains Part A-VLC, B-D2l, and C-FSL Resources from G. Landriault

PART A: French Resources Available through the Virtual Learning Commons (VLC)

Quick Links:

Digital Resources & Subject Guides for Grades 1-8 French: https://vlc.ucdsb.ca/az.php?s=26945

Digital Resources & Subject Guides for Grades 9-12 French: https://vlc.ucdsb.ca/az.php?s=27431

Note: all/most information and research databases are both French & English

All information databases provide for FR/EN through the ‘translate’ function.
All encyclopedia and atlas links provide text in both FR/EN (select language on website)
PowerKnowledge Science Suite databases (Gr 3-8) provide a French audio/read aloud capability.

e-Books and Audiobooks

Sora (OverDrive) This link opens in a new window
Open a world of reading with the UCDSB collection of eBooks, audiobooks and read alongs from OverDrive. Your virtual book library all in one! Download the Sora app to your phone or device - its easy to read!
Big Timber Indigenous eBooks (French) This link opens in a new window
Gr3-8 French-language eBooks. Includes the series: 'La communauté' and 'La vie autochtone au Canada : au passé, au présent et au futur'

Video Streaming

ON-Core : Core Curriculum On-Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming and downloadable video, 100% Canadian and aligned to the Ontario Curriculum.
IDÉLLO This link opens in a new window
IDÉLLO is a rich video-based educational tool, which enables you to search for educational videos including transcripts & links to complementary resources. You can search by FSL reading level, skill type, subject, and more! Simply create your FREE ACCOUNT and start saving & sharing your videos with students, parents & co-workers.

Information Databases, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries