LibGuides: Grade 11: Contemporary First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Issues and Perspectives (NDA3M): The Global Context

Suggested Databases

Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
International viewpoints on a range of cross discipline global issues, topics and current events. Database contains topic and country portals for detailed analysis.
Canadian Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
French/English. A comprehensive and authoritative general Canadian reference work. Also includes quizzes, games, multimedia, and links to other resources.
Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada This link opens in a new window
Reference maps of Indigenous Canada, information and historical photos on Truth and Reconciliation, First Nations, Metis & Inuit Peoples, as well a glossary of common Indigenous terms.
4Canoes Indigenous Voices eBooks This link opens in a new window
Teachers Resources & Children's Books including: English and French editions of Natural Curiosity 2nd Edition: The Importance of Indigenous Perspectives; Four volumes of 4Canoes including The Ojibwe from Great Spirit Island, The Haida of Haida Gwaii, The Mi'kmaq of Ktaqamkuk, and The Yavapai, The People of the Sun. Three children's books by Canoe Kids including the Eagle Feather Story (A Story from the Dakelh Peoples), The Drum Story by The Ojibwe Peoples of Manitoulin Island, and Wah buuny - vah (Yavapai Brush House)
The Residential Schools Book (Words and Images of Survivors) by Larry Loyie.

Find more databases

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

Top Picks

Global Indigenous Issues
Reference articles, Global Actions, United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous People
The State of the World's Indigenous Peoples
"The Report on the State of the World’s Indigenous Peoples promotes awareness of indigenous peoples’ issues within the United Nations system, with States, academia and the broader public."
International Labour Organization - Indigenous Peoples
Information and videos from the International Labour Organization about Indigenous peoples around the world.

Want to learn more?

International Work Group for Indigenous Affairs
The International Work Group for Indigenous Affairs is an independent and non-profit international human rights-based membership organization, whose central charter is to endorse and promote the collective rights of the world's indigenous peoples
The Indigenous World 2020
A report from The International Work Group for Indigenous Affairs about indigenous communities around the world.
Sustainable Development Knowledge Platform - Indigenous Peoples
Documents from the United Nations about Indigenous peoples, the environment and sustainable development.
Amnesty International - Indigenous Peoples
Information from Amnesty International about the issues indigenous peoples face across the globe.

Indigenous Peoples to Research in VLC Databases

Use the databases found in the top left-hand box of this page to search for some Indigenous peoples from around the world:

Masaai (Kenya)
Maori (New Zealand)
Hmong (China/Southeast Asia)
Maya (Mexico/Central America)
Uighur (China)
Berber/Amazigh (North Africa)
San (Botswana/Southern Africa)
Fulani (West Africa)
Tuareg (North and West Africa)
Adivasi (India)
Ainu (Japan)
Igorot (Phillipines)
Torres Strait Islander Peoples (Australia)
Aboriginal Peoples (Australia)

There are many more indigenous peoples across the globe - search for them using the terms "indigenous people" and a country name.

Grade 11: Contemporary First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Issues and Perspectives (NDA3M): The Global Context

Suggested Databases

VLC Bookmark

Top Picks

Want to learn more?

Indigenous Peoples to Research in VLC Databases

Gr. 9-12: Ask Us/Demande Moi

Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?

Gr. 9-12: How do I cite my sources?