LibGuides: Grade 11: Contemporary First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Issues and Perspectives (NDA3M): Cultural Identity and Cultural Continuity

Suggested Databases

Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.
Canadian Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
French/English. A comprehensive and authoritative general Canadian reference work. Also includes quizzes, games, multimedia, and links to other resources.
Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada This link opens in a new window
Reference maps of Indigenous Canada, information and historical photos on Truth and Reconciliation, First Nations, Metis & Inuit Peoples, as well a glossary of common Indigenous terms.
4Canoes Indigenous Voices eBooks This link opens in a new window
Teachers Resources & Children's Books including: English and French editions of Natural Curiosity 2nd Edition: The Importance of Indigenous Perspectives; Four volumes of 4Canoes including The Ojibwe from Great Spirit Island, The Haida of Haida Gwaii, The Mi'kmaq of Ktaqamkuk, and The Yavapai, The People of the Sun. Three children's books by Canoe Kids including the Eagle Feather Story (A Story from the Dakelh Peoples), The Drum Story by The Ojibwe Peoples of Manitoulin Island, and Wah buuny - vah (Yavapai Brush House)
The Residential Schools Book (Words and Images of Survivors) by Larry Loyie.

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

First Peoples of Canada
An overview of First Peoples of Canada including maps, languages, conflicts and alliances, methods of travel, visual portrayal of art by and about First Peoples. Also includes a teacher resource.
Treaties With Indigenous Peoples in Canada
This detailed article from Canadian Encyclopedia deals with historical and current treaties negotiated with indigenous peoples.
Indian Act
The Indian Act is the primary law the federal government uses to administer Indian status, local First Nations governments and the management of reserve land. It also outlines governmental obligations to First Nations peoples.
Beyond a number: Inuit photo exhibit brings controversial 'Eskimo' I.D. system to light - CBC
As a university student in the 1990s, Barry Pottle was surprised to discover that some Inuit artists signed their work with a number instead of their name.

Repatriation Handbook - Royal BC Museum
This first edition of the handbook was written by the Indigenous Collections and Repatriation Department of the Royal BC Museum and the Haida Gwaii Museum at Kay Llnagaay, and it was reviewed by the First Peoples’ Cultural Council and the Royal BC Museum Indigenous Advisory and Advocacy Committee.

Media Smarts- Aboriginal people
This section hones in on many issues that are specific or unique to Aboriginal people in Canada, including the underreporting of crimes against Aboriginal people by news media and the unique challenges faced by Aboriginal people seeking to produce content for their own communities.

A Mountain of Power: The Impact of Cindy Blackstock
Article and audio from CBC's Unreserved all about Cindy Blackstock and the impact of her advocacy for indigenous children.
Tagak Curley
Article from Canadian Encyclopedia about Inuk politician Tagak Curley.
Governor General’s Award honours storied career of Germaine Arnaktauyok
Article from Nunatsiaq News about the celebrated artist Germaine Arnaktauyok.
Harry Daniels
Canadian Encyclopedia article about Métis politician, actor and writer Harry Daniels.
Alanis Obomsawin
Article about the life of filmmaker Alanis Obomsawin.
Murray Sinclair
Canadian Encyclopedia article about Senator Murray Sinclair.
Rita Joe
Article about the life and work of Mi'kmaq poet Rita Joe.
Roberta Jamieson
Information about Roberta Jamieson, Officer of the Order of Canada and CEO of Indspire.

Mohawk Council of Akwesasne
Proudly Serving All Akwesasronon
Shabot Obaadjiwan First Nation
First Nations Website for Shabot Obaadjiwan. We are a first nation located just west of Arden, Ontario.
Tyendinaga Mohawk Nation
Tyendinaga, as part of the Mohawk Nation, is a healthy, sustainable Kanyen’kehá:ka community, built on and united by our language, culture, traditions, knowledge, and history.
Ardoch Algonguin First Nation
Bonnechere Algonquin First Nation
Algonquin Traditions
Metis Nation of Ontario
Kitigan Zibi Anishinabeg
Welcome to the Kitigan Zibi Community Web Site, home of the proud member of the Algonquin First Nation.