LibGuides: Grade 12: Nutrition and Health: Eating Patterns and Trends

Suggested Databases

Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts This link opens in a new window
English/French. The Culinary Arts Collection includes 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as reference content. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides over 160 full-text journals in medicine, nursing, allied and consumer health. Includes full-text reference books, pamphlets, overviews of clinical topics, and indexing and abstracts for over 1500 additional titles covering patient and consumer health information.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
Covering the study of the mind and emotions, this database explores what makes people 'tick' from childhood to death.

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

The kids are not alright: how the food and beverage industry is marketing to our children.
The Heart & Stroke 2017 Report on the Health of. Canadians examines how industry is marketing unhealthy food and beverages directly to our children and youth.

Nutrition Through Life
Developed for those who are interested in nutrition at different life stages. This section looks at nutrition in pregnancy, in childhood and young adults, in men and women, and in later life. From the British Nutrition Foundation.

Healthy Eating for Parents and Children
Learn why healthy eating is important for children. From Canada's Food Guide.

Self-Nutrition Data - Know What You Eat
On Nutrition Data, you'll find detailed nutrition information, plus unique analysis tools that tell you more about how foods affect your health and make it easier to choose healthy foods.
Food Allergy FAQs
Check out our FAQs on food allergy, including quick facts about this medical condition, from Food Allergy Canada.
Allergy-friendly recipes
Discover delicious allergy-friendly recipes from Food Allergy Canada.