Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Louis Riel Day
Louis Riel day is recognized on November 16
Canada in Context
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.
French/English. A comprehensive and authoritative general Canadian reference work. Also includes quizzes, games, multimedia, and links to other resources.
Curio.ca - Branche tes méninges
Reportages et documentaires télévisuels et radiophoniques. Portail Web produit par Radio-Canada regroupant des reportages, des documentaires télévisuels et radiophoniques ainsi que des documents d'archives disponibles en diffusion en continu (streaming) sans pause publicitaire.
Curio.ca - Sharpen Your Mind
Educational programming, collections, teacher resources, Ontario curriculum alignment etc. from CBC Learning and Radio-Canada Contenus éducatifs . Includes News in Review. Available in English & French
First Nations, Métis & Inuit Education Association of Ontario
Resources, website links, lesson plans supporting the integration of Indigenous histories, texts and contemporary realities into the curriculum. Includes interactive games.
Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada
Reference maps of Indigenous Canada, information and historical photos on Truth and Reconciliation, First Nations, Metis & Inuit Peoples, as well a glossary of common Indigenous terms.
ON-Core : Core Curriculum On-Demand
Streaming and downloadable video, 100% Canadian and aligned to the Ontario Curriculum.
Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.
Talk to your LCI today!
1885 Resistance and Trial
The Legacy of Louis Riel
Our Legacy: 1885 - Aftermath
This online exhibit from the University of Saskatchewan Archives details what happened after the 1885 resistance.
Louis Riel Day
The Métis Nation of Ontario provides information about celebrating Louis Riel Day.
Listen to this collection of CBC radio stories about the changing legacy of Louis Riel.
Unfinished Business in Confederation
This document from the Manitoba Métis Federation provides information about understanding the Supreme Court of Canada's decision in the Manitoba Metis Federation case.
Gr. 9-12: Ask Us/Demande Moi
Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?
Gr. 9-12: How do I cite my sources?
Ask your LCI for help locating these books about Louis Riel and the Métis People.
Louis Riel by Legendary cartoonist Chester Brown's Louis Riel has been nominated for the 2003 Eisner Awards for Best Continuing Series. In this comic biography, Brown reveals that at least one dusty closet of Canadian history holds some skeletons that won't stop rattling. Canadians everywhere can tell the story of Louis Riel and the Red River Rebellion of 1869. To some Louis Riel was one of the founding fathers of a new nation. To others he was a murderer who nearly tore a country apart.Riel was a man so charismatic he was elected to government twice while in exile with a bounty on his head but so impassioned that his dramatic behaviour cast serious doubts on his sanity. The absolute rebel, Riel took on the army, the government, the Queen of England and even the Church in the name of his passionate vision of freedom for the people of the prairies. One of the hippest comics going, Louis Riel promises to be a controverial must-have in 2003. "How does a history of a real 19th-century Quebecois rebel mystic become fun to read? When he is drawn with the clownish proportions of a tiny head and a giant's body. Chester Brown makes history his own by rewriting it just slightly, while annotating every altered detail, and presenting it all in his spare, almost goofy drawing style." -Time
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Song of Batoche by Louis Riel arrives at Batoche in 1884 to help the Métis fight for their lands and discovers that the rebellious outsider Josette Lavoie is a granddaughter of the famous chief Big Bear, whom he needs as an ally. But Josette learns of Riel's hidden agenda - to establish a separate state with his new church at its head - and refuses to help him. Only when the great Gabriel Dumont promises her that he will not let Riel fail does she agree to join the cause. In this raw wilderness on the brink of change, the lives of seven unforgettable characters converge, each one with secrets: Louis Riel and his tortured wife Marguerite; a duplicitous Catholic priest; Gabriel Dumont and his dying wife Madeleine; a Hudson's Bay Company spy; and the enigmatic Josette Lavoie. As the Dominion Army marches on Batoche, Josette and Gabriel must manage Riel's escalating religious fanaticism and a growing attraction to each other. Song of Batoche is a timeless story that traces the borderlines of faith and reason, obsession and madness, betrayal and love."This passionate retelling uses women's eyes to reveal the hidden history behind Riel and Gabriel Dumont. Deeply researched, and rooted in the soil of Batoche." - Marina Endicott, author of the Giller-nominated Close to Hugh"Combining fine research and engaging storytelling, Song of Batoche is a stirring fictionalized account of events in and around the 1885 North-West Resistance. Josette Lavoie is an intriguing and memorable heroine." - Katherena Vermette, author of the The Break and winner of the Governor General's Award
Publication Date: 2017-10-01
The North-West Is Our Mother by There is a missing chapter in the narrative of Canada's Indigenous peoples--the story of the Métis Nation, a new Indigenous people descended from both First Nations and Europeans Their story begins in the last decade of the eighteenth century in the Canadian North-West. Within twenty years the Métis proclaimed themselves a nation and won their first battle. Within forty years they were famous throughout North America for their military skills, their nomadic life and their buffalo hunts. The Métis Nation didn't just drift slowly into the Canadian consciousness in the early 1800s; it burst onto the scene fully formed. The Métis were flamboyant, defiant, loud and definitely not noble savages. They were nomads with a very different way of being in the world--always on the move, very much in the moment, passionate and fierce. They were romantics and visionaries with big dreams. They battled continuously--for recognition, for their lands and for their rights and freedoms. In 1870 and 1885, led by the iconic Louis Riel, they fought back when Canada took their lands. These acts of resistance became defining moments in Canadian history, with implications that reverberate to this day: Western alienation, Indigenous rights and the French/English divide. After being defeated at the Battle of Batoche in 1885, the Métis lived in hiding for twenty years. But early in the twentieth century, they determined to hide no more and began a long, successful fight back into the Canadian consciousness. The Métis people are now recognized in Canada as a distinct Indigenous nation. Written by the great-grandniece of Louis Riel, this popular and engaging history of "forgotten people" tells the story up to the present era of national reconciliation with Indigenous peoples. 2019 marks the 175th anniversary of Louis Riel's birthday (October 22, 1844)
Publication Date: 2019-09-17
Halfbreed by A new, fully restored edition of the essential Canadian classic. An unflinchingly honest memoir of her experience as a Métis woman in Canada, Maria Campbell's Halfbreed depicts the realities that she endured and, above all, overcame. Maria was born in Northern Saskatchewan, her father the grandson of a Scottish businessman and Métis woman--a niece of Gabriel Dumont whose family fought alongside Riel and Dumont in the 1885 Rebellion; her mother the daughter of a Cree woman and French-American man. This extraordinary account, originally published in 1973, bravely explores the poverty, oppression, alcoholism, addiction, and tragedy Maria endured throughout her childhood and into her early adult life, underscored by living in the margins of a country pervaded by hatred, discrimination, and mistrust. Laced with spare moments of love and joy, this is a memoir of family ties and finding an identity in a heritage that is neither wholly Indigenous or Anglo; of strength and resilience; of indominatable spirit. This edition of Halfbreed includes a new introduction written by Indigenous (Métis) scholar Dr. Kim Anderson detailing the extraordinary work that Maria has been doing since its original publication 46 years ago, and an afterword by the author looking at what has changed, and also what has not, for Indigenous people in Canada today. Restored are the recently discovered missing pages from the original text of this groundbreaking and significant work.
Publication Date: 2019-11-05