Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases provide access to "different reading levels' and "different types of texts".
Britannica High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for high school students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.
Canadian Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
French/English. A comprehensive and authoritative general Canadian reference work. Also includes quizzes, games, multimedia, and links to other resources.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Gale In Context: High School (formerly Student Resources in Context) This link opens in a new window
For students in Gr. 6+, this database provides cross-curricular support for for papers, projects, and presentations in areas such as history, sports, science & health, geography, government, social issues, arts & literature, world cultures & religions, biographies, and business.
Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.
Talk to your LCI today!
Gr. 9-12: Ask Us/Demande Moi
Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?
Gr. 9-12: How do I cite my sources?