LibGuides: Grade 11: Working with Infants & Young Children: Growth and Development

Suggested Databases

Britannica High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for high school students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Got a health question? Need a "go-to" source with credible information that is in-depth yet simple to navigate? Health & Wellness Resource Center is a rich, comprehensive resource providing access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works, multimedia and much more. With easy-to-find answers via an intuitive and customizable interface, Health & Wellness Resource Center is the first-stop resource for consumers of all ages and skill sets.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides over 160 full-text journals in medicine, nursing, allied and consumer health. Includes full-text reference books, pamphlets, overviews of clinical topics, and indexing and abstracts for over 1500 additional titles covering patient and consumer health information.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
Covering the study of the mind and emotions, this database explores what makes people 'tick' from childhood to death.

Find more databases
Use this link to find more databases to support your learning

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

How to Reference or Cite using APA
Explore the VLC page all about APA citations.
Citation Machine
This comprehensive guide covers almost every citation source type you can imagine.
BibMe
The fully automatic bibliography maker that auto-fills. It’s the easiest way to generate citations to build a works cited page. And it’s free.

NAEYC (The National Association for the Education of Young Children)
NAEYC promotes high-quality early learning for all children, birth through age 8, by connecting practice, policy, and research.
Caring for Kids website - Canadian Paediatric Society
Caring for Kids provides parents with information about their child’s and teen's health and well-being.
Ontario Early Years Centres
An Ontario Early Years Centre is a place for children up to the age of six and their parents and caregivers to take part in programs and activities together.
Ontario Ministry of Children and Youth Services
The Ministry is working with government and community partners to develop and implement policies, programs and a service system that helps give children the best possible start in life, prepare youth to become productive adults and make it easier for families to access the services they need at all stages of a child's development.

12 Principles of Child Development and Learning that Inform Practice - NAEYC
NAEYC (The National Association for the Education of Young Children) promotes high-quality early learning for all children, birth through age 8, by connecting practice, policy, and research. We advance a diverse, dynamic early childhood profession and support all who care for, educate, and work on behalf of young children.
Is Your Baby on Track? - WebMD
WebMD provides valuable health information, tools for managing your health, and support to those who seek information. You can trust that our content is timely and credible.
Growth and Development, 4 to 5 Years - What to Expect - WebMD
Learn about the developmental milestones of 4 and 5 year olds.
Child Development Theories - About.com
About.com (an IAC company) is one of the largest online premium publishers of expert-created content and one of the most visited sites in the U.S. About.com’s 1,000 Experts help millions of users answer questions, solve problems, learn something new, and find inspiration.
Your child’s development: What to expect - Caring For Kids website
Learn about child development from the Canadian Pediatric Society.
Rewired: Learning to tame a noisy brain. (Or, how you can use the power of neuroplasticity) Dr. Norman Doidge - The Globe and Mail
In print for 170 years, The Globe delivers lively and authoritative coverage of national, international, business, technology, arts, entertainment and lifestyle news.

5 Theories of Child Development
Online Psychology Degree Guide is intended to provide information about several different types of psychology degrees that are available for online study, and includes a description of each degree, specific schools that offer the degree, and possible career choices for the individual who earns the online psychology degree.
What are the different types of attachment?
The Wave Clinic has very quickly become a firm favourite with young people and families from all over the world.
Rocking and Rolling: Difficult Goodbyes Supporting Toddlers Who Are Coping with Separation Anxiety
The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC).

What is the Difference Between Teacher-Directed Learning and Student-Centered Learning?
Continued.com - high-quality, online continuing education that fits your schedule + your budget for the life of your career.
How Does The Environment Influence A Child's Growth And Development?
MomJunction has since published thousands of articles on various parenting issues to help readers with their pregnancy, child’s growth, development, learning, and even entertainment.
Thinking and play: preschoolers
At raisingchildren.net.au, we provide free, reliable, up-to-date and independent information to help your family grow and thrive together.
Why Should My Child Play Outside? Benefits of Outdoor Play for Kids
Miracle playgrounds are designed to prepare children for their future.
Social-Emotional Development: Infants and Toddlers
The Virtual Lab School empowers professionals as they build their knowledge and skills around research-based practices in child and youth care and development.
10 Fun, Healthy Snacks for Kids to Make
Welcome to Verywell Family, an award-winning resource for reliable, compassionate, and up-to-date information on the pregnancy and parenting topics that matter most to you.