LibGuides: Grade 10: English: Oral Communication

Suggested Databases

Britannica High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for high school students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographical information, overviews, criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all periods and from around the world.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects.

Find more databases.

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

Gr. 9-12: Teacher Resources

How do I access & use databases?

First, what are databases?

"Research databases are organized collections of computerized information or data such as periodical articles, books, graphics and multimedia that can be searched to retrieve information. Databases can be general or subject oriented with bibliographic citations, abstracts, and or full text. The sources indexed may be written by scholars, professionals or generalists."

Source: Prince George Community College, http://pgcc.libguides.com/c.php?g=60038&p=385667

Top Picks: How To Give a Great Speech

Want to learn more? Learn How to Prepare and Deliver a Speech

Find Books on this Subject

public speaking
speeches
free speech
writing speeches
human voice

Elements of English 10
ISBN: 9780774705943
Literature and Media
ISBN: 9780176187095
Things Fall Apart
ISBN: 9780821924129
The Catcher in the Rye

Writing Help

Conflict in Short Stories
Use this assignment to help students identify types of conflicts found in short stories. This document was provided by Ms. Ryan at BCI, 2014.

Try the Writer's Toolkit!
Find the Writer's Toolkit part way down the page on the right side. It has all kinds of cool & helpful ideas on how to write stories, essays, poems, and much more!
Thesaurus.com
Look up synonyms for the words that you are using in your presentations. This will help to add listener interest in your topic.
eNotes
Find thousands of study guides to help you with English, Literature, writing, and much more!

Gr. 9-12: Games & Databases

Gr. 9-12: How do I share & stay safe online?

Gr. 9-12: Ask Us/Demande Moi

Gr. 9-12: How do I cite my sources?

Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?

Reference Tools

Merriam-Webster Dictionary
Use this online dictionary and thesaurus to help you expand your vocabulary. Available in Spanish & English.
Oxford English Dictionaries
This is credible and historically sound source. Find in-depth meaning to words including multiple definitions.
Roget's Thesaurus
Look up synonyms for the words that you are using in your presentations. This will help to add listener interest in your topic.