Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Apps to support language
ABC Print Big Trace HD (also available- cursive and numbers)
Trace oversized letters with letter stroke guidance. Audio included. Free, full version $1.99
Cimo Spelling Sight
Learn 50 high frequency words from the Dolch Sight Word list. 4-9 years, free.
Teach children the names of twelve different colours. Created by a Speech and Language Pathologist.
I Like Books
Enjoy 37 "I Like" children's picture books. Children learn about the world around them while learning how to read. $1.99. Ages 1+.
Make HD movies with this easy to use app. Create trailers, add photos, music and sound effects. Share your movie on the web. $4.99. Ages 6+.
Kids ABC Alphabet Puzzle Game
Learn how to recognize shapes and figures by completing puzzles. Audio and visual hints can be provided. Use own photos to create puzzles. Free. Ages 2-6.
My First Words- Flashcards by Alligator Apps
Fully customizable, this app teaches students vocabulary. It combines audio, voice and written words. Free. Ages 1-6.
Phonic Awareness, 1st Grade
Students learn how to segment words, blend consonants, and learn vowel sounds. Free. Ages 3-8.
Phonics Vowels - Short Vowels, Long Vowels, Two Vowels
Students learn beginning sounds, ending sounds, word families, short vowel sounds, long vowel sounds and more. Free. Ages 3-8.
Reading Comprehension Grades 2-3
Short, engaging stories help to build reading comprehension. Immediate feedback helps keep students focused. Available from 1st grade to 3rd grade. $1.99/level. Ages 5-9.
Create and share stories with great drawing and writing tools. Download books to iBooks library. Over 50 story templates. Free. Ages 5+.
This app is a picture learning system designed for students with special needs. Customizable for individual students. In app purchases for other categories available. Free.
Sentence Builder for iPad
Learn how to build grammatically correct sentences. 100 pictures provided to write about. $5.99. Ages 5+.
Sight Words 2 : 140+ learn to read flashcards
Introducing Sight Words 2 with Word Bingo! All new words in this comprehensive Sight Words app with multiple games, including Word Bingo! This app is designed to educate and entertain 1st and 2nd graders, Pre-Schoolers, Kindergarteners! Free.
This is an RJ Cooper app that builds keyboarding and spelling skills in students. Lessons can be customized for individual students. Free. Ages 5+.
Students can see, hear, and interact with letters and sounds in words, sentences, and games. Great for students learning English. $2.99. Ages 2+.
Students can write stories by writing text. They can illustrate by drawing or taking a picture. They can record sound. Free. Ages 4+.
Students learn sight words, addition, subtraction, and spelling. Students earn a coin after 3 correct responses. Coins can be used to purchase items. TeachMe apps start at toddler and go to 2nd grade. $0.99. Ages 3+.
Touch and Learn- ABC Alphabet and 123 Numbers
Teach letters from A to Z. Teach numbers from 1 to 100. Teach phonics. Free. Ages 2+.
Free French English Dictionary+
Over 35 000 translations and audio pronunciations available in this app. Translates from French to English and from English to French. Ages 8+. Free.
French Baby Flash Cards!
Over 450 French words in 9 different categories. Ages 1+. Free.
French Verbs Trainer
• Contains detailed conjugation trainor for over 770 verbs!
• Listen to audio pronunciations for every verbs, in all conjugation forms (Powered by iSpeech).
• Includes tense and mood explanations with precise examples.
• Searchable dictionary for quick reference.
This app contains a large collection of musical instruments. Just tap and play the instrument you want. Ages 1+. Free.
K-Gr. 6: Teacher Resources
Definition of inclusive education
Community Living Ontario defines inclusive education as: An educational experience where every child shares in all facets of ongoing education that will meet his/her unique needs; and, where all Boards of Education ensure that these rights include the opportunity:
- to attend regular classrooms in their local neighborhood school;
- to attend classes with like-aged children;
- to receive an education program based on, but not restricted to, individual goals;
- to receive adequate supports to ensure equitable opportunity for success;
- to receive coordinated planning and assistance in all transitional phases, including
- preschool to elementary, elementary to secondary, post-secondary, cooperative education,
- colleges and universities or continuing education;
And where parents have the opportunity to become true partners in determining all aspects of their child's education. Community Living Ontario believes that inclusion must be promoted and supported as a first choice for all students who have an intellectual disability, and that the Ontario Ministry of Education must be accountable and fully responsible for the full and uniform implementation of these measures in all school boards throughout the province.
Apps for behaviour, relaxation and structure
See. Touch. Learn
See.Touch.Learn.™ is a picture learning system designed by professionals specifically for those with autism and other special needs. See.Touch.Learn.™ makes traditional picture cards obsolete. Parents and professionals use See.Touch.Learn.™ to build custom picture card lessons and automatically track their child’s responses.
Apps to promote social skills
ABA Flash Cards & Games- Emotions
Students learn to identify, understand, and respond appropriately to over 20 emotions via flash cards and interactive games. Ages 1-4 years. Free.
Play chess against the iPad or against another opponent. Great for building turn taking skills and social skills. Ages 8+. Free.
Pixton Comic Maker
Choose a background and characters, add speech bubbles, and you're done! Or, use Pixton in advanced mode and control every element of your comic. Free.
iCreate…Social Skill Stories
The app is designed to make unlimited personalized social skill story books by importing personal photos, adding titles, text and audio to unlimited pages in the story. Ages 2+. $5.79.
iGet…My Classmates Photo Album
This app gives picture, text and audio support to individuals learning about classmates. Add photo albums with up to thirty icons that can be personalized by the user. Text statements and audio recording can be added to each photo. Ages 3+. $3.49.
Developed by experts and endorsed by parents and teachers, Injini’s collection of learning games offers meaningful play to young children, especially toddlers and preschoolers with cognitive, language, and fine motor delays. Ages 2+. $34.99.
Model Me Going Places 2
This app provides social stories for students who may have difficulty navigating going places in the community. Stories include going to the mall, play ground, doctor, hairdresser, restaurant, and grocery store. Ages 2+. Free.
Social Skill Builder
This app is a series of interactive videos that teach social thinking, language and behaviours that are critical to everyday living. Focus is on: friendship/life skills, critical thinking, emotions, and consequences. Ages 3+. $3.49.
Super Duper "What are They Thinking?"
Use the App to improve your students' inferencing, reasoning, and conversational skills. The student then gives a verbal response. You score their response as correct or not. Ages 4+. $2.29.
Touch and Learn - Emotions
This app focuses on helping kids read body language and understand emotions by looking at gorgeous pictures and figuring out which person is expressing a given emotion. Ages 3+. Free.
What Would You Do at Home If Fun Deck
Select the cards you want students to see, and have them work on solving problems and practicing good social skills as they discuss situations in and around home. The prompts include questions like, “What would you do if..." Ages 8+. $4.59
What Would You Do at School If Fun Deck
Select the cards you want students to see, and have them work on solving problems and practicing good social skills as they discuss situations in and around school. The prompts include questions like, “What would you do if...." Ages 8+. $4.59.
K-Gr. 6: Ask Us/Demande Moi
CELA - Centre for Equitable Library Access
Learn how to count from 1 to 20 using real photos. Add text and voice. Ages 2-6 years. $1.19.
Easy to use educational app that teaches kids coin math in multiple languages. Canadian coins available as an in app purchase. Ages 4+. $3.49.
Build foundation skills in math through visual supports. Add, subtract, multiply, divide, and figure out fractions and percents. Rewards are built in. Ages 4-11 years. Free.
Quick Graph makes graphing equations easy in 2D and 3D. Up to 6 equations can be visualized at the same time. Ages 10+. Free.
Students learn sight words, addition, subtraction, and spelling. Students earn a coin after 3 correct response. Coins can be used to purchase items. TeachMe apps start at toddler and go to 2nd grade. Ages 3-5 years. $2.29.
LeafSnap for iPad
Learn to identify trees and flowers with this visual recognition software. Ages 8+. Free.
Science 360 for iPad
The National Science Foundation has provided science and engineering video from around the world. Ages 8+. Free.
This is an easy to use voice recorder. Create audio notes and save them or email them. Ages 3+. Free.
Create choice boards of up to six choices. Use your own pictures or text. Ages 2+. Free.
This app helps children learn multi-exchange conversations in social settings. Conversation is presented visually to that students recognize and master the flow of conversation. In app purchases available for other conversations. Ages 2+. $22.99.
The free version offers two categories-transportation and animals. Students learn vocabulary in French and in English. The full version comes with nine different categories. Ages 2-8 years. Free.
Match it up!
This app helps students to develop visual perception skills through the matching of conceptually related images. It also helps develop language skills by naming objects and colours. Ages 2+. Free.
This app provides a full-featured Augmentative and Alternative Communication solution for students who are non or minimally verbal. It includes over 7000 items, advanced word prediction and is fully expandable. Ages 4+. $249.99.
This app is a picture learning system designed to build vocabulary for students with special needs. Customizable for individual students. In app purchases for other categories available. Ages 1+. $1.19.
This app is designed to improve receptive and expressive language. A speech model is presented for the child to imitate. The child's speech is recorded and then scored. Ages 2-8 years. $11.99.
This app provides the images and sounds of 360 animals, birds, vehicles, musical instruments and household items. Students tap a cartoon image and the real image pops open accompanied by the sound it makes. Ages 2-5 years. $5.79 (lite version free)
Talk Assist is an alternative speech aid that provides a voice for people who cannot speak for themselves. Anything you type in will be spoken out loud for others to hear. Ages 8+. Free.
Understanding Inferences Fun
Answer questions or complete sentences to help boost student's inferencing and reasoning skills. 52 question cards available. Ages 6+. $4.59.
Verbally is an easy-to-use, comprehensive Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) app. It contains word grids, phrases grids and text prediction. Ages 8+. Free.
Wheels on the Bus HD
This app encourages children's language and motor development. Sing with the student and have the student sing back and record the song. Ages 2-5 years. $2.49.
UCDSB Newsletter for Parents and Students Jan 2021