LibGuides: Grade 12: English: Media Studies

Suggested Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects.
Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Database of books, authors, genres and topics to help you find your next book to read!
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new window
English/French. From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, and linguistics

Find more databases

Databases - News Sources

Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies In Context This link opens in a new window
Science in Context This link opens in a new window

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Get one from your LCI today!

Think Literacy Library

Think Literacy
Cross Curricular Approaches from the Ontario Ministry of Education.

Top Picks

Types of Media
From Spark Notes
Functions of the Media
20 Important reasons to study the media
From The Centre for Media Literacy

Want to learn more?

What is Media Literacy?

Media Literacy is the result of study of the art and messaging of various forms of media texts. It explores the impact and influences of mass media and popular culture by examining texts such as films, songs, video games, action figures, advertisements, CD covers, clothing, billboards, TV shows, magazines, newspapers, photographs, and websites.

Media Literacy engages students as consumers of media.

Sources: see the links below

What is Digital Literacy?

Digital Media Literacy
Source: Media Smarts- Canada's Centre for Digital and Media Literacy

Gr. 9-12: Ask Us/Demande Moi

Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?

Gr. 9-12: How do I cite my sources?

How do I learn about Media Influences?

What is Social Media?

10 Social Media Tips for Reaching World Language Learners Do you want to put those English skills to work? Read this article. Topics include blogging, Twitter, Instagram, Video, Slide Shows, Google Drive, Collaborative Editing, Facebook, Duolingo, and polling
How to Use Social Media Effectively
What is Social Media?
Source: webtends

Search terms for Grade 12 English in Destiny

Search terms for Grade 12 English in Destiny

Communication
English
Literature
Writing
Media
Literacy