Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gale Health and Wellness
Got a health question? Need a "go-to" source with credible information that is in-depth yet simple to navigate? Health & Wellness Resource Center is a rich, comprehensive resource providing access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works, multimedia and much more. With easy-to-find answers via an intuitive and customizable interface, Health & Wellness Resource Center is the first-stop resource for consumers of all ages and skill sets.
Teen Health & Wellness
This database was developed for teens, with their unique concerns in mind. Curricular support and self-help on topics including diseases, drugs & alcohol, nutrition, mental and emotional health, sexuality, cyber literacy, family life…
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Provides over 160 full-text journals in medicine, nursing, allied and consumer health. Includes full-text reference books, pamphlets, overviews of clinical topics, and indexing and abstracts for over 1500 additional titles covering patient and consumer health information.
My Health Magazine
MyHealth Magazine is a health and wellness interactive online publication that covers topics from mental health, physical well-being, to social skills and advise, as well as disorders or hot topics like bullying.
***GET THE ACCESS CODE TO CREATE YOUR OWN ACCOUNT & ACCESS THE MAGAZINE FROM YOUR LCI! ***
Tools for Assessing Personal Wellness
Use the following resources to assess your own personal wellness.
Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.
Talk to your LCI today!
Mental Health Resources
This website from the Anxiety Disorders Association of Ontario provides information about the symptoms and treatment of anxiety
Mind Your Mind - Mental Illnesses
Information about common mental illnesses from the Mind Your Mind team.
Teens Health - Stress and Coping Center
Find tips and helpful information about de-stressing and building resilience.
HealthyMinds - app
This app from The Royal Ottawa Hospital allows you to track your mood and take steps to reduce stress. It is available in both English and French.
Alternative Health Care Services
The following alternative health care services are regulated by the Government of Ontario. They all have regulatory colleges established by the government to ensure the safety of the public.
The following alternative health care services are not regulated by the government of Ontario, but do have professional associations.
First Nations Health Resources
Gr. 9-12: Ask Us/Demande Moi
Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?
Gr. 9-12: How do I cite my sources?