LibGuides: Grade 11: Health for Life: Determinants of Health

Suggested Databases

Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Got a health question? Need a "go-to" source with credible information that is in-depth yet simple to navigate? Health & Wellness Resource Center is a rich, comprehensive resource providing access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works, multimedia and much more. With easy-to-find answers via an intuitive and customizable interface, Health & Wellness Resource Center is the first-stop resource for consumers of all ages and skill sets.
Teen Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
This database was developed for teens, with their unique concerns in mind. Curricular support and self-help on topics including diseases, drugs & alcohol, nutrition, mental and emotional health, sexuality, cyber literacy, family life…
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides over 160 full-text journals in medicine, nursing, allied and consumer health. Includes full-text reference books, pamphlets, overviews of clinical topics, and indexing and abstracts for over 1500 additional titles covering patient and consumer health information.

Find more databases
Use this link to find more databases to support your learning

Use the following tools to help determine if the resource you are using is trustworthy.

Evaluating Online Health Information
Some tips for evaluating health information you find on the internet, from the National Institutes of Health.
Flocabulary-Source Evaluation-Can I trust it?
Watch this fun rap video from Flocabulary to learn about evaluating websites.
How do I evaluate websites & information sources?

Resource Evaluation: The CRAAP Test
Use this evaluation checklist to determine if a resource is worthwhile. Does your book, website, magazine article pass the CRAAP Test?

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

What Determines Health?
Information about the many determinants of health, from the Government of Canada.
Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-term Care
The Ontario Ministry of Health website has information about different health initiatives as well as information to support healthy choices.
Social Determinants of Health
Comprehensive information about the social determinants of health, from the World Health Organization.
Teens Health
Teens Health is a website from the Nemours foundation, with information about all aspects of physical and emotional health.

How to create a social support network
Learn what a social support network is and why they are important in this article from the Mayo Clinic.
The Road to Resilience
This guide from the American Psychological Association talks about what resilience is and how to build more of it.
Specific Genetic Disorders
Detailed information about many inherited medical conditions, from the National Human Genome Research Institute.