LibGuides: Grade 11 and 12: Geography Courses: Living in a Sustainable World, Grade 12 (CGR4E)

Curriculum

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

Top Picks

The Concepts of Geographic Thinking
esra Canada – We pioneer problem solving with Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
Bridging an Awareness Gap : Integrating transferable skills in your classroom
Resources and exercises that explore transferable skills. DePaul University Career Center

Honouring Earth
The Assembly of First Nations (AFN) is a national advocacy organization representing First Nation citizens in Canada, which includes more than 900,000 people living in 634 First Nation communities and in cities and towns across the country.

Species at Risk
David Suzuki Foundation - Through evidence-based research, education and policy analysis, we work to conserve and protect the natural environment, and help create a sustainable Canada.
Species at Risk in Canada
Hinterland Who’s Who.
Conservation or Preservation: Which Is Best for Now and in the Future?
Good Nature Travel is the official travel blog of Natural Habitat Adventures, a nature and adventure travel company that focuses on seeing the world’s most amazing natural places with minimal impact.
Connecting cultures: a journey through indigenous art in Canada
The National Geographic Society is a global nonprofit organization committed to exploring and protecting our planet.
Protecting Coastal Wetlands and Coral Reefs
Pew applies a rigorous, analytical approach to improve public policy, inform the public, and invigorate civic life.
Wildlife Biologist Balances Boreal Forest Conservation and Development
Pew applies a rigorous, analytical approach to improve public policy, inform the public, and invigorate civic life.
Earth System Science
The vision of the ETE online series is to promote science-literate and reflective students who are knowledgeable of the Earth's processes and their responsibilities for stewardship.
Humans destroyed an ecosystem the size of Mexico in just 13 years
The World Economic Forum engages the foremost political, business, cultural and other leaders of society to shape global, regional and industry agendas.
Endemic Species
As the Internet's premier collection of online encyclopedias, Encyclopedia.com provides you reference entries from credible, published sources like Oxford University Press and Columbia Encyclopedia.
Connecting cultures: a journey through Indigenous art in Canada
CreativeWorks is the global branded content offering from The Walt Disney Company, an award-winning 360º content production studio delivering multi-platform solutions for likeminded clients.

Smokestack scrubbers: How they work and why they are used
Water Technology is your one source for industrial process water and wastewater news.
12 ways to live more sustainably
At the Center for Biological Diversity, we believe that the welfare of human beings is deeply linked to nature — to the existence in our world of a vast diversity of wild animals and plants.
Ontario's new electronics recycling fees causing confusion for some customers
CBC News is Canada's publicly owned news and information service.
Canada’s oil sands and local First Nations How the energy sector impacts Indigenous incomes, employment and prosperity
The Canadian Energy Centre’s mandate is to promote Canada as the supplier of choice for the world’s growing demand for responsibly produced energy.
Desert, water, water shortages, conservation and resources
I hope you like factsanddetails.com and find it useful and interesting. Even though the articles contain material from other sources in various forms it has taken a lot of hard work and many years to gather, assemble and organize the content in this site.
What are the key factors that influence water quality?
APEC is the leading manufacturer of residential reverse osmosis drinking water filtration systems in the United States.
Global oil demand to peak around 2040 or ‘much sooner,’ IMF says
CNBC is the recognized world leader in business news and provides real-time financial market coverage and business content consumed.
Oil Sands: Indigenous peoples : impact of the oil sands on Indigenous communities.
Government of Canada. Natural Resources Canada. Committed to improving the quality of life of Canadians by ensuring the country’s abundant natural resources are developed sustainably, competitively and inclusively.

Tackling the population problem
At the Center for Biological Diversity, we believe that the welfare of human beings is deeply linked to nature — to the existence in our world of a vast diversity of wild animals and plants.
Trade and environment
There are a number of ways of looking at the World Trade Organization. It is an organization for trade opening.
Climate change and ecosystems: threats, opportunities and solutions
The Royal Society is a Fellowship of many of the world's most eminent scientists and is the oldest scientific academy in continuous existence.
Invasive alien species and climate change
IUCN is a membership Union composed of both government and civil society organisations.
Pollutant
The energy education team works hard to present comprehensive and easy-to-understand information about the science of energy for the public.
Living and Nonliving Things in the Ecosystem
Sciencing - We want to be every student's go-to resource for all things science.
Needs of Plants
Let’s Talk Science is committed to preparing Canadian youth for future careers and citizenship demands in a rapidly changing world.
How Forests Change Over Time
WXPR - To inform, entertain, and engage our community. To enrich lives with music, information, and interaction. To build positive lasting relationships in an ever-evolving media environment.

Our Timeline - From its humble beginnings in 1990 to being Canada’s most trusted environmental organization, the David Suzuki Foundation has enjoyed a history of accomplishment
David Suzuki Foundation - Through evidence-based research, education and policy analysis, we work to conserve and protect the natural environment, and help create a sustainable Canada.
6 Ways to be more eco friendly as a teenager
The principals of Dry Guy Waterproofing products are long time enthusiasts of camping and outdoor sports who just got too frustrated with the lack of success with waterproof products being sold today.
Calculate your ecological footprint
The Ontario Biodiversity Council has partnered with Global Footprint Network to develop a personal online footprint calculator for Ontario residents to see how their own living habits relate to their use of the planet’s resources.
List of countries by ecological footprint
Wikipedia is an online free-content encyclopedia project helping to create a world in which everyone can freely share in the sum of all knowledge.
What is ENERGY STAR?
ENERGY STAR® is the government-backed symbol for energy efficiency, providing simple, credible, and unbiased information that consumers and businesses rely on to make well-informed decisions.
Why Is Recycling Important For A Business? 5 Surprising Benefits
At CleanRiver, we’ve moved beyond the familiar ‘reduce, reuse, recycle’ to shift towards a more environmentally sustainable approach called the 3C’s of recycling: Culture, Communication, Collection.
Water crisis in First Nations communities runs deeper than long-term drinking water advisories
The Conversation is an independent source of news and views, from the academic and research community, delivered direct to the public.
Household Hazardous Waste (HHW)
EPA considers some leftover household products that can catch fire, react, or explode under certain circumstances, or that are corrosive or toxic as household hazardous waste.
Learn about Energy and its Impact on the Environment
EPA.
Tip of the iceberg: The true state of drinking water advisories in First Nations
What is UCalgary News? A network of news websites produced mainly by staff members, as part of their roles as communicators who support faculties, departments and institutes.