LibGuides: Grade 7: History: Rebellion in Lower Canada

The Patriotes

The Rebellions in Upper and Lower Canada

Useful tools....

Writers' Toolkit

Pixton Comics This link opens in a new window

Check out our resources and Databases!

Canadian Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
French/English. A comprehensive and authoritative general Canadian reference work. Also includes quizzes, games, multimedia, and links to other resources.
Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.
Britannica Middle School Edition This link opens in a new window
Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for intermediate students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

Gr. 7-8: Send us your work

Email: vlc@ucdsb.on.ca

Rebellion!

Rebellion in Lower Canada:

"By 1830, the battle lines had been drawn. On one side was the Patriote-led Assembly, which represented the majority of the population in Lower Canada.

The Assembly stood in opposition to the elite group called the Chateau Clique, whose members sat in the two councils. Many members of the Chateau Clique were merchants who governed for their own self-interests."

Douglas Baldwin, Rebellion and Union in the Canadas (Calgary: Weigl, 2003), 16

Battle at St. Eustache 1837

Les Fils de la Liberte

"Les fils de la Liberte, which means "sons of liberty" in the French language, was founded by about 700 Patriotes in 1837."

Douglas Baldwin, Rebellion and Union in the Canadas (Calgary: Weigl, 2003), 16

Les Fils de la Liberte - Canadian Encyclopedia

The Doric Club

"The Doric Club was founded in 1836 in Montreal. The club consisted of young English-speaking [loyals]. This paramilitary political organization was opposed to the threat of French rule in Lower Canada."

Douglas Baldwin, Rebellion and Union in the Canadas (Calgary: Weigl, 2003) 16

Adam Thom organized the Doric Club in Lower Canada. He was a lawyer and journalist.

The Doric Club - Canadian Encyclopedia

Biography of Robert Baldwin 1804-1858

"Temperamentally and intellectually unlike his gifted father, the shy, introspective Robert entered politics in 1829 as a Reformer, winning a seat in the Assembly in a by-election."

The Canadian Encyclopedia 2012, http://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com/articles/robert-baldwin

Robert Baldwin - Canadian Encyclopedia

Gr. 7-8: Ask Us/Demande Moi

Gr. 7-8: How do I find out about my topic?

Gr. 7-8: How do I create & cite my work?

Parti Patriote

The green, white and red tricolour was used by the Patriote's between 1832-1838

The Colonial Advocate Journal

"The Colonial Advocate was a Canadian radical journal advocating a democratic system of government that influenced the Upper Canada Rebellion of 1837. First published by William Lyon Mackenzie on May 18, 1824, the journal frequently attacked a group of aristocratic officials who were given the name, “The Family Compact.”

Colonial Advocate, Wikipedia, Last modified August 27, 2012, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colonial_Advocate

The Colonial Advocate Journal - Wikipeida.

Pistols and guns from 1830s

Battles of Lower Canada Map