Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Teaching Resources for Historical Inquiry
Academic OneFile Journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects.
Gale OneFile: World History Database providing coverage of both current thinking and events in world history.
Canada in Context Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.
Canadian Encyclopedia French/English. A comprehensive and authoritative general Canadian reference work. Also includes quizzes, games, multimedia, and links to other resources.
Britannica High School Edition Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for high school students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.
Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada Reference maps of Indigenous Canada, information and historical photos on Truth and Reconciliation, First Nations, Metis & Inuit Peoples, as well a glossary of common Indigenous terms.
Secret Life of Canada Podcast (CBC) "The Secret Life of Canada highlights the people, places and stories that probably didn't make it into your high school textbook. Join hosts Leah and Falen as they explore the unauthorized history of a complicated country." Focus is on studying Canadian history through a diverse lens.
Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.
Talk to your LCI today!
How to: Graphic Organizers
Graphic organizers for Secondary Students
Wikipedia: How to Evaluate it and Use it Wisely
HISTORICAL THINKING CONCEPTS
"HISTORICAL THINKING CONCEPTS." The Historical Thinking Project. Centre for the Study of Historical Consciousness, n.d. Web. 10 Dec. 2014. <http://historicalthinking.ca/historical-thinking-concepts>.
SCIM Strategy for Interpreting History
A short media presentation explaining the SCIM Strategy - Summarizing, Contextualizing, Inferring and Monitoring
Great Unsolved Mysteries in Canadian History
Canadian Heritage has developed this educational site of historical "cold case" mysteries to assist in teaching the concept of historical thinking while learning about Canadian history in an interactive environment.
Historica Canada: Think Like an Historian
The Think Like a Historian series is a tool for educators and students to build skills to analyze and interpret primary sources.
Primary Source Pyramid (Historica Canada)
Download the 3D pyramid to assemble. Includes 5 steps to analyze primary sources -
THE 5WS: Question the source. Who created it? When and where was it created? What is the source about? Why was the source created?
CONTEXT: Situate the source in space and time, placing it in the wider picture of history. What else was happening at the time?
EXPLORING: Examine the details of the source. What is it about? What words, images or symbols are used? What was its purpose?
REACHING CONCLUSIONS: Use context, evidence and observations to develop conclusions. What can the source reveal?
FINDING PROOF: Compare your conclusions with other primary and secondary sources to corroborate your findings. Do other sources confirm or challenge your conclusions?
Indigenous Foundations: Oral Traditions
University of British Columbia
Want to learn more? Here's Information on Primary and Secondary Sources
Find Books on this Subject
Suggested search terms for Destiny:
- internet research
- critical thinking
- historical inquiry
A Smart Kid's Guide to Doing Internet Research by Whether motivated by curiosity or working on school reports, kids often use the Internet to do research. This helpful book covers everything from figuring out if a site is trustworthy to the importance of citing sources.
Publication Date: 2009-08-15
The Research Virtuoso by "I keep this book beside my computer all the time. It's astonishing how often I rely on it to guide me in making efficient, accurate research inquiries." - Bruce, Lawyer "I thought I knew my way around a search engine, but the tips in here improved my research strategies ten times over." - Rachel, college student The Research Virtuoso is an easy and thoroughly up-to-date guide to seeking, sourcing, and sorting information on any given topic. From card catalogs to Internet blogs, readers will find explanations on every kind of research tool available today and step-by-step advice on how to use them. At the library: How to make effective use of extensive print, audio, and video resources, as well as librarians. On the internet: Secrets to finding reliable, credible, and specialized websites, including accessing metasearch engines and the deep web. Each chapter breaks down the search process into manageable steps and offers hands-on suggestions for collecting data while maintaining a critical perspective. Along the way, examples from an ongoing sample research project illustrate how it's done, plus interesting tidbits discuss the changing role of technology. Complete with time-saving tips, recommended websites, and droll cartoons to keep things light, The Research Virtuoso is a passport to the rich possibilities of the information age. No one should log on without it.
Publication Date: 2006-04-01
Research Ate My Brain by The ultimate cure for today's homework woes. The panic and doubt that comes with the assignment of a research project is no different today than it was decades ago. The advent of cyberspace, however, means that access to information today is greater and quicker than ever before, and that the way research is done has changed forever. How can students find their way through this information overload? Research Ate My Brain is here to help. Written in a breezy, humorous style, this handy handbook shows students how to master the vast and complex resources that are available. Each chapter breaks the research process down into bite-sized pieces: how to access invaluable library materials (books, journals, newspapers, databases, audio and video); secrets to successful surfing online; how to identify and source reliable research sites; best bets for fact gathering; and most importantly, evaluating and organizing all that information. Sidebars offer insights on everything from how to chat with an electronic librarian to finding obscure centers of dependable information around the globe. A slew of timesaver tips promote efficiency and maximize results.
Publication Date: 2005-09-03
Critical Thinking by Easy-to-follow text, colorful photographs and illustrations, and simple activities help students develop their critical thinking skills and apply those skills to their studies.
Publication Date: 2008
Evaluating Internet Resources
Gr. 9-12: Ask Us/Demande Moi
Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?
Gr. 9-12: How do I cite my sources?
Ontario Skills Passport
Ontario Skills Passport - The Ontario Skills Passport (OSP) provides clear descriptions of Essential Skills and work habits important for success in work, learning and life.
How to: Write a Paper / Essay
Copyright and Creative Commons
The Canadian Copyright Act is available through the link below, as is information regarding public domain through the Creative Commons:
Skills learned in history are beneficial for the following careers:
- Museum Curator
- Community Worker
- Tour Guide