LibGuides: Grade 10: Canadian History Since World War I (CHC2D and CHC2P): Identity, Citizenship, and Heritage

Suggested Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects.
Gale OneFile: World History This link opens in a new window Database providing coverage of both current thinking and events in world history.
Canada in Context This link opens in a new window Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.
Canadian Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window French/English. A comprehensive and authoritative general Canadian reference work. Also includes quizzes, games, multimedia, and links to other resources.
ON-Core : Core Curriculum On-Demand This link opens in a new window
Britannica High School Edition This link opens in a new window Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for high school students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.
Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada This link opens in a new window Reference maps of Indigenous Canada, information and historical photos on Truth and Reconciliation, First Nations, Metis & Inuit Peoples, as well a glossary of common Indigenous terms.
Secret Life of Canada Podcast (CBC) This link opens in a new window "The Secret Life of Canada highlights the people, places and stories that probably didn't make it into your high school textbook. Join hosts Leah and Falen as they explore the unauthorized history of a complicated country." Focus is on studying Canadian history through a diverse lens.
Curio.ca This link opens in a new window

Find more databases

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

Contributions to Canadian Identity

The following Individuals made a significant contribution to Canadian society and politics since 1982:

Dictionary of Canadian Biography
The Canadian Encyclopedia
Famous Canadians - Biography.com You will have to scroll through the list since there is no search option on this page. However, if you go to the homepage, you will be able to search by name.

The following individuals have made a significant contribution to the arts and/or popular culture of Canada since 1982:

Susan Aglukark
Denis Arcand
Margaret Atwood
Donovan Bailey
Adam Beach
Edward Burtynsky
Austin Clarke
Leonard Cohen
Sidney Crosby
Paul Demers
Celine Dion
Drake
Atom Egoyan
Michael J. Fox
Nelly Furtado
Tomson Highway
Lawrence Hill
Clara Hughes
Jarome Iginla
Karen Kain
Wab Kinew
K'naan
Zacharias Kunuk
Avril Lavigne
Deepa Mehta
Rick Mercer
Michael Ondaatje
Robbie Robertson
Michel Tremblay
Shania Twain
Hayley Wickenheiser

The following groups and organizations made a significant contribution to Canadian society and politics since 1982:

the Bloc Québecois
the Green Party
Métis Nations of Ontario
Women of the Métis Nation
the Reform Party
The Assembly of First Nations
The Romanow Commission

The following groups and organizations made a significant contribution to Canadian arts and popular culture since 1982:

Afro Connexion
Arcade Fire
the NHL
Nickleback
the Calgary Stampede
Caribana (Caribbean Carnival)
the Calgary and Vancouver Olympics
Cirque du Soleil

Grade 10: Canadian History Since World War I (CHC2D and CHC2P): Identity, Citizenship, and Heritage

Suggested Databases

VLC Bookmark

Contributions to Canadian Identity

Gr. 9-12: Ask Us/Demande Moi

Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?

Gr. 9-12: How do I cite my sources?