LibGuides: Grade 7: Geography: Physical Patterns in a Changing World

Suggested Databases

This topic in geography is HUGE!

Try using these search terms in the databases listed below to learn more:

natural resource management, carbon footprint, ecological footprint, food industry, energy industry, manufacturing industry, mining industry, fishing industry, commodities, oil/gas, agriculture/sustainable agriculture, urbanization, climate change, deforestation, acid rain, animal endangerment, species endangerment, exotic species

Contact your school's Learning Commons Informationist (LCI) for your VLC bookmark with passwords.

Britannica Elementary School Edition This link opens in a new window
General encyclopedia, atlas, dictionary and thesaurus covering a wide range of topics. Information is presented using text, audio, videos and images. Each article also contains links to explore more on the topic
Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.
Canadian Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
French/English. A comprehensive and authoritative general Canadian reference work. Also includes quizzes, games, multimedia, and links to other resources.
Environmental Studies In Context This link opens in a new window
Database of analysis, journals, news, case studies, primary sources, statistics and multimedia focusing on the physical, social and economic aspects of environmental issues.

Find more databases

Britannica Middle School Edition This link opens in a new window
Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for intermediate students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

Gr. 7-8: Send us your work

Email: vlc@ucdsb.on.ca

Maps

National Geographic MapMaker Interactive
Use this tool to generate human and physical geography thematic maps.

Words to know.....

Dictionary.com

climate, land use, landforms, vegetation, drought, flood, climate change, agriculture, ecotourism, land reclamation.

Top Picks

Types of Landforms
This link has information on mountains, valleys, plains, plateaus, islands, deserts and more.
Youth Action Climate Summit
An opportunity for youth to stand up for the future and ensure that you have a voice in both local and global climate change issues. Speakers from around the province will guide you on the path of creating your own climate action plans.
https://youthclimateactionsummit.ca/
Landforms from Space
Using Google Earth, this site gives students the opportunity to view the Earth from a different perspective
https://earth.google.com/web
Climate Change
Video - CBC Kids looks at ways in which climate change is affecting our world
https://curio.ca/en/catalog/986c4837-0c6c-47b7-b032-0a4c6c55a290

Want to learn more?

Environmental History Resources
Read this article to learn about the Dutch river defences (Netherlands) in historical perspectives.
Land use, climate change adaptation and Indigenous Peoples
This article by United Nations University includes text and video about many topics including understanding Indigenous world-views, and much more,
National Geographic--Environment
Search topics and read about current events affecting our environment.
Erosion and Weathering
This link from National Geographic has further information on erosion. Topics include erosion by water, wind and ice. Erosion and people. Also includes links for further exploration of the topic.
Canadian Geographic Kids
Games, facts, maps, Canadian Geographic Kids TV episodes and more.

Canadian Landforms

Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.

Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.

Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.

Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.

Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.

List of Landforms of Quebec
This is a Wikipedia site. Use the list as a starting point for keywords when searching other resources.
Québec by the Sea
Regions of Quebec

Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.

New Brunswick
The Canadian Encyclopedia
Physical Map of New Brunswick

Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.

NATURAL LANDSCAPES OF NOVA SCOTIA: Summary Descriptions
January, 2002
Protected Areas Branch Nova Scotia Department of Environment and Labour
Nova Scotia
The Canadian Encyclopedia

Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.

Prince Edward Island
The Canadian Encyclopedia

Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.

Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.

The Yukon: Canada's Isolated Oasis
National Geographic

Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.

Canadian Encyclopedia: Delta (Landform)

Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.

Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.

Find Books on this Subject

Below you will find a selection of books that may be found in your Learning Commons. Be sure to visit your Learning Commons Informationist to locate these books, or other similar titles in print or electronic form.

Suggested search terms for Destiny:

agriculture, climate, climate change, deforestation, deposition, drainage basins, drought, ecotourism, flood, glaciation, lakes, landforms, land use, land reclamation, mining, mountains, oceans, plains, plateaus, river systems, tectonic forces, valleys, vegetation, weathering and erosion,

Mission Planet Earth by Sally Ride; Tam O'Shaughnessy Mission: Planet Earth describes how water, air, and other climate systems shape our world, and how a disruption in one part of the system can spread through the entire planet.
ISBN: 9781596433106
Publication Date: 2009-03-17
The Kids Book of Canadian Geography by Briony Penn (Illustrator) This book shows how Canada's landscape, life forms, ecosystems and climate yield clues to help students understand the ever-changing story of geography. What does a huge rock in the middle of a plain tell us? What makes spruce trees adapted to the north? What does the star-nosed mole tell us about woodlands? These and many other clues are explained to help youngsters "decode" and understand their environments. This book traces the continents' formation and explains how they arrived at their present state, touching on ancient landscapes, evolving climate, continent shaping and life on the land, including human settlement. Then, kids get a richly detailed and illustrated tour through the eight geographical regions of their country.
ISBN: 9781550748901
Publication Date: 2008-09-01

Gr. 7-8: Ask Us/Demande Moi

Gr. 7-8: How do I find out about my topic?

Gr. 7-8: How do I create & cite my work?

How to draw a climate graph on graph paper

Academic Honesty Checklist & Bookmark

Use this checklist to help you cite your sources!

Academic Honesty Bookmark - Download & Print
Avoid plagiarism. Learn the basics of how to cite your sources!
This document has 2 pages. Print it off double-sided or print then photocopy it double-sided.

The Aral Sea Crisis

The Aral Sea crisis
This link is about what has been happening with the Aral Sea, located in Central Asia. This link also includes information on the environmental impacts, how life in the region is impacted as well as the future.