LibGuides: Grade 11: Contemporary First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Issues and Perspectives (NDA3M): National and Regional Perspectives

Suggested Databases

Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.
Canadian Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
French/English. A comprehensive and authoritative general Canadian reference work. Also includes quizzes, games, multimedia, and links to other resources.
Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada This link opens in a new window
Reference maps of Indigenous Canada, information and historical photos on Truth and Reconciliation, First Nations, Metis & Inuit Peoples, as well a glossary of common Indigenous terms.
4Canoes Indigenous Voices eBooks This link opens in a new window
Teachers Resources & Children's Books including: English and French editions of Natural Curiosity 2nd Edition: The Importance of Indigenous Perspectives; Four volumes of 4Canoes including The Ojibwe from Great Spirit Island, The Haida of Haida Gwaii, The Mi'kmaq of Ktaqamkuk, and The Yavapai, The People of the Sun. Three children's books by Canoe Kids including the Eagle Feather Story (A Story from the Dakelh Peoples), The Drum Story by The Ojibwe Peoples of Manitoulin Island, and Wah buuny - vah (Yavapai Brush House)
The Residential Schools Book (Words and Images of Survivors) by Larry Loyie.

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

Treaties, Agreements and Negotiations
Website from Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada with information about historical and current treaties.
Royal Proclamation of 1763
Canadian Encyclopedia article about the Royal Proclamation of 1763 and its impact.
Covenant Chain
Article about the Covenant Chain alliances.
Peace and Friendship Treaties
Canadian Encyclopedia article about the treaties signed between England and the indigenous peoples of the Maritimes between 1725 and 1779.
The Covenant Chain, Royal Proclamation and Treaty of Niagara
Artifacts from the Canadian Museum of History.
Treaty of Niagara, 1764
Canadian Encyclopedia article about the Treaty of Niagara.
The Numbered Treaties
Canadian Encyclopedia article about the many treaties made betweent the Crown and First Nations between 1871 and 1921.

Sixties Scoop
Canadian Encyclopedia article detailing the Canadian governments' policy of separating Indigenous children from their families and cultures.
The Indian Act
Article about The Indian Act and its' significance.
The White Paper, 1969
Article detailing the 1969 White Paper that aimed to repeal the Indian Act and eliminate all treaties.
A Plain Language Guide to the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement
An easy to read guide to the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement from Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated.

What is Land Back? - David Suzuki Foundation
This website from the Suzuki Foundation explains the land back movement. Includes videos and links to more resources.
Idle No More
"IDLE NO MORE calls on all people to join in a peaceful revolution to honour Indigenous sovereignty and to protect the land & water"
Harold Cardinal
Article about Indigneous activist Harold Cardinal, and his fight against the 1969 White Paper.

Daniels v Canada 2016
Article from Norton Rose Fullbright explains the court decision in the Daniels v Canada case.
Gladue Case
Canadian Encyclopedia article about the ruling in the case of R. v Gladue and its' effect on the criminal code.
Powley Case
Information on the Powley Case and the implications for Métis rights.

This Place: podcast
This Place podcast, hosted by Rosanna Deerchild, explores 150 years of Indigenous resistance and resilience