Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Brockville Collegiate Institute and Vocational School: Home

Home

Honouring Memories - BCI Heart Garden

un 30, 2021  •  1 hour ago  •  3 minute read  •   Join the conversation

 

From left, Brockville Collegiate Institute principal Lori Taylor and vice-principals Dave MacDonald and Nicole Krosse pose by the "Heart Garden" erected in front of the school bearing messages of sorrow over the discovery of the remains of 215 Indigenous children at a former residential school in Kamloops, BC. This year, Canada Day includes reflection on the nation's past. (FILE PHOTO) From left, Brockville Collegiate Institute principal Lori Taylor and vice-principals Dave MacDonald and Nicole Krosse pose by the "Heart Garden" erected in front of the school bearing messages of sorrow over the discovery of the remains of 215 Indigenous children at a former residential school in Kamloops, BC. This year, Canada Day includes reflection on the nation's past. (FILE PHOTO) jpg, BT

Article content

This year’s Canada Day will continue from last year’s beat and be different, but for more than one reason this time.

Honouring Memories - BCI Heart Garden

Brockville Collegiate Institute and Vocational School-125 years

Student Life: BCI

UCDSB-VLC Games and Databases: Top Picks

I wan to learn more - Geochaching

UCDSB-VLC Games and Databases: Top Picks

Read A Loud of the Day

docents were needed. “So I thought, this is perfect! I will be a docent!” Nancy’s face lit up as she spoke about Fulford place and its haunted reputation. “Visitors were transfixed by the tales of Mary Fulford and, you know…” As she knocked on the table to imitate the knocking on walls that were attributed to Mary Fulford’s ghost. This led to Nancy creating the Brockville Ghost Walks, on which she and her fellow guides told many stories of the eerie happenings at the mansion and other Brockville sites. “For the first three summers, my companions and I led the Ghost Walks, rain or shine, every Friday night. It was so popular that we were booked weeks in advance.” “This has to be a book,” Nancy decided. After months of detailed research, she wrote, Mysterious Brockville, a compendium of 32 Brockville ghost stories, including six Fulford Place mysteries. The book sold out in weeks. It was so popular that she reprinted it, and in 2006, published a second edition, Mysterious Brockville 2. (Only the second edition is now sold in stores.) “I think it celebrates Brockville in a wonderful way. It creates an aspect of Brockville that you wouldn’t dream of if you simply came here as a tourist. It’s a history of Brockville too, that is carefully researched.” Nancy’s third book, Letters from Paris, was never originally designed as a book. It’s a collection of the amusing letters she mailed to her Halifax family during her study year in Paris. It was published with her own handdrawn illustrations in 2008. She showed me the original letters in their envelopes that she has still kept to this day. She spoke highly of Paris and even has a large, colorful transit map of the city hung up by her door. “It wasn’t until 1992, when I flew down to Halifax that I found all these letters. I found them all bound up in string in the back of a drawer. My mother had kept them all.” Her fourth book is a collection of poems. “March Poems, 2003” came to her when she was grieving her mother’s death. It is a symbol of a new beginning to Nancy - when the spring comes and life is reborn. These intricate poems “had to be written,” she says. Her own watercolor paintings are reproduced in the book as well. It is easy to tell, from her career, her way of speaking and the artwork in her home, that Nancy has a passion for writing as well as reading. It is people like Nancy that we have to thank for making the art of language as beautiful as it is today. LH

BCIVS: Snapshots and Memories

Useful Databases and Web-sites

Brockville History Album | All about the History of Brockville, Ontario150 Years of Brockville History for Canada150Canada's First Railway Tunnel – Amazing PlacesCanada's First Railway Tunnel History | Brockville Railway TunnelOur Story | Brockville Farmers' MarketRobert Shepherd Grist Mill from City of Brockville - Seehttps://www.nny360.com/artsandlife/the-amazing-aquatarium-new-hands-on-attraction-in-brockville-highlights-st-lawrence-river-ecosystem-history/article_3b9c7036-932d-5371-9292-3ddd70317f1d.htmlThe amazing Aquatarium New hands-on attraction in Brockville highlights St.  Lawrence River ecosystem, history | Arts and Life | nny360.comBROCKVILLE MUSEUMSt. Vincent de Paul Hospital, Brockville, Canada. : Digital Archive :  Toronto Public LibraryUnderstanding a part of Brockville history. - Fulford Place, Brockville  Traveller Reviews - TripadvisorFulford Place - Ontario Heritage TrustPetition · Kathleen Wynne: SAVE A PIECE OF BROCKVILLE'S HISTORY SAVE PRINCE  OF WALES PUBLIC SCHOOL FROM BEING CLOSED · Change.orgHistory - Brockville Country ClubHistory - Brockville Country ClubBrockville Public Library

Brockville Collegiate Institute and Vocational School: Picture Gallery

Explore the 1000 Island's

Student Life: BCI

Brockville Collegiate Institute | Study Upper Canada | Flickr

The Old Brockville Collegiate [1889-1929] | Brockville History Album

Useful databases

I wan to learn more

Feminist Voicesbrockville - First Edition - AbeBooksMysterious Brockville by Nancy Wickwire Fraserbrockville - First Edition - AbeBooksBrockville The River Cityhttps://www.dundurn.com/authors_/t156375/t148098-russ-disotell

1St Canadian History Brockville Ontario Glenn Lockwood for sale onlineA Short History of Brockville | Handbook of Brockville HistoryBrockville, formerly Elizabethtown, is a city in Eastern Ontario in the Thousand Islands region located on the north shore of the Saint Lawrence River opposite Morristown, New York. It is about halfway between Cornwall to the east and Kingston to the west. It is one of Ontario's oldest European-Canadian communities and is named after the British General Sir Isaac Brock.
This area of Ontario was first settled by English speaking people in 1785, when thousands of American refugees arrived from the American colonies after the American Revolutionary War. They were later called United Empire Loyalists because of their allegiance to King George III. The struggle between Britain and the 13 American colonies occurred in the years 1776 to 1783, and divided loyalties among the people. During the 6-year war, which ended with the capitulation of the British in 1782, many colonists who remained loyal to the crown were subject to harsh reprisals and unfair dispossession of their property by their countrymen. Many Loyalists chose to flee north to the British colony of Quebec. Great Britain opened the western region of Canada (known as Upper Canada and now Ontario), purchasing land from First Nations to allocate to the Loyalists in compensation for their losses, and helping them with some supplies as they founded new settlements. In 1785 the first Loyalist to take up land in Brockville was William Buell Senior, an ensign disbanded from the King’s Rangers from the State of New York.
In the 19th century the town developed as a local center of industry, including shipbuilding, saddleries, tanneries, tinsmiths, a foundry, a brewery, and several hotels.
In 1855, Brockville was chosen as a divisional point of the new Grand Trunk Railway between Montreal and Toronto. At the same time, the north–south line of the Brockville and Ottawa Railway was built to join the timber trade of the Ottawa Valley with the St. Lawrence River ship route. A well-engineered tunnel for this railway was dug and blasted underneath the middle of Brockville. The Brockville Tunnel was the first railway tunnel in Canada.Brockville Ontario in Colour Photos: Saving Our History One Photo at a Time  (Cruising Ontario Book 157) eBook: Raue, Barbara: Amazon.in: Kindle Store

Learning Commons Informationist

Profile Photo
L. Jeanne Johnston
Contact:
BCIVS - Brockville Collegiate Institute and Vocational School - Brockville Family of Schools

Sharing Space: poetry . blogs, essay's, links

Read a good novel...

Transgender at 11

An Action Kit for Transgender Students

Suggested Databases - UCDSB: Virtual Learning Common's

Insert the "Best Bet" databases for this subject area.  Ensure that there are at least 3, but no more than 5 databases suggested.

The below databases are just examples.

Find a story in MyOn or SORA

Video Selection: Warning-Box of Tissues required.

Suggested Databases - UCDSB: Virtual Learning Common's

Checking Your Body Language - MENZA for Kids

The Power of Body Language

The Power of Body Language

Social Psychologist Amy Cuddy explains the power behind nonverbal communication. She shares how, in a very short time, you can become more powerful. Dr. Cuddy explains the difference between “fake it ‘til you make it” and “fake it ‘til you become it,” and invites us all to put the ideas to the test, sharing the information to empower others.

Everyone Belongs:

Top Picks:: Videos, Key Word searches, & Links...

Gorman asks two questions: whose shoulders do you stand on? What do you stand for? She used these..

Gorman argues that all art is political. Do you agree? Why or why not?

In 2017, Amanda Gorman made history as the United States's first Youth Poet Laureate

In 2021, she became the youngest poet to read her work at a US Presidential inauguration. Watch her performance of “The Hill We Climb” or read a transcript of the poem

Watch or read Gorman's poem "The Miracle of Morning," written in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Useful Databases and Web-sites

Create a poster campaign to advertise a meeting or rally or to raise awareness about your cause.

Raise money for your transgender education campaign by holding a party or performance, writing a grant proposal or selling artwork.

Distribute information about transgender issues to community members.

Get people together for a town hall meeting or community rally to promote transgender visibility or to protest transphobic policies.

Make T-shirts and give them away in exchange for donations to your campaign.

Write a poem or an article for your school newspaper.

Show a film or documentary about transgender rights, or make one of your own.

Set up an activist email network, start an email petition or join a chat group.

Lobby to change school policies to be inclusive of transgender students.

Hit the road and attend a conference or training on transgender issues.

Find out if your school has a fund to help you pay for expenses.

Educate yourself about other forms of oppression, like racism, sexism, homophobia, classism and ableism.

The Genderbread Person

Top Picks

${vImageAlt}

Yoga

In recent years, yoga has become more popular and research has found many mental health benefits. It can be practiced by people from all religious

Digging Deeper: Websites for further research

Mind-UP - Helping Children Thrive - Simple to implement and evidence-based. Mind-UP is built upon four pillars to promote positive mental health and well-being.

 

 

Prefer Texting or Email?

Text us anytime! Simply send a SMS message to:

(877) 352-4497

or you may email our Support Team 24/7/365 at:

Support@BullyingCanada.ca

Don’t be shy, we’re here for you.

It’s really normal to be curious about our services, but please remember we need to make sure we’re available to serve those in need.

Not sure what to say? Don’t worry! Our Virtual Buddies are friendly and well trained—they will get the conversation going with a few questions.

Create Your Own LEGO® Maze

Create Your Own LEGO Maze

In this activity, we’ll be building a LEGO Marble Maze and increasing the level of difficulty with each new design. We’ll start with a simple marble maze and then eventually add curves, tunnels, traps, and dead ends to the track.

Youth voices: See You Again

PRIDE 2021 - Community Spotlight and activities guide

Jessica Roberts, left, and Neil Kudrinko, right have asked Wesport to erect a 'progress' Pride flag as a sign of support and inclusion. In addition to rainbow stripes, it includes a chevron meant to include BIPOC and trans people within the queer community. (Hallie Cotnam/CBC - image credit)

June Announced as Westport Pride Month; Rally Set for 5th on Jesup Green

clip_image001.png

 Westport Pride, a Westport, CT-based organization focused on creating a more welcoming and connected community for Westport’s LGBTQ+ residents, is pleased to announce its upcoming schedule of events for the community’s inaugural Pride Month celebration.

Jessica Roberts, left, and Neil Kudrinko, right have asked Wesport to erect a 'progress' Pride flag as a sign of support and inclusion. In addition to rainbow stripes, it includes a chevron meant to include BIPOC and trans people within the queer community. (Hallie Cotnam/CBC - image credit)

Introduction

HOW CAN WE MAKE POSITIVE AND LASTING CHANGE?  https://pflagcanada.ca/

Schools are microcosms of our larger society. Valuing diversity and ensuring that all members of society have a meaningful place are central tenets of bullying prevention. Comprehensive prevention initiatives that nurture safe and inclusive school environments and foster the acceptance of differences are profoundly connected to practices that foster equitable and inclusive education.

Free online Parenting Magazine

Cherry Pie Chia Parfaits

Jeanine Donofrio - 

Creamy chia pudding, jammy tart cherries, and a crunchy granola topping are great as a midday snack or an after-dinner treat.

Read more

jars of parfait with cherries

Equity Club: Sharing Space

Learning Commons Informationist

Profile Photo
L. Jeanne Johnston
Contact:
BCIVS - Brockville Collegiate Institute and Vocational School - Brockville Family of Schools

Equity Club: Photo Gallery

Audible - Suggested Reading

Chanakya In the Classroom cover art

Chanakya In the Classroom: Life Lessons for Students
  •  
  • Written By: Radhakrishnan Pillai
  • Narrated by: Ankit Bakshi
  • Length: 3hrs 5mins
  • 0.0 out of 5 stars(0 Reviews)

Creating your own Safe Space

Suggested Databases - UCDSB: Virtual Learning Common's

Digging Deeper: Websites for further research

Digging Deeper: Websites for further research

Introduction: Creating you own Safe Space

Welcoming Spaces Image.jpg

As you can see for this random sample, “welcoming” most commonly elicited the words friendly, safe, belonging, inclusive, non-judgmental, open, inviting, warm, and accessible. 

“WE CAN’T BE BRAVE IN THE BIG WORLD WITHOUT AT LEAST ONE SMALL SAFE SPACE TO WORK THROUGH OUR FEARS AND FALLS.” –BRENE BROWN

***Soul Stories is a series where bloggers open up about their unique experiences with mental health. Each Soul Story highlights themes of resiliency and growth through adverse situations. If you’d like to have yours featured please

I wan to learn more

How To Create Your Own 'Safe Space'

By 

Elizabeth Scott, MS 

 Medically reviewed by 

Carly Snyder, MD 

Updated on January 10, 2021

In an often intolerant world, having a safe space to go to is incredibly important for maintaining good mental health. A safe space is a place—physical or virtual—you can go to relax and recharge. A judgment-free zone where you can let your guard down and truly be yourself.

Below are some tips on how to create a few such "safe spaces" for yourself in different areas of your life.

Visit a Traditional Support Group

Hands coming together

jabejon / Getty Images

If you feel that the stress you are experiencing is overwhelming, or if you're dealing with trauma or a serious situation the average person may not understand, therapists and support groups can be wonderfully effective. 

If you're dealing with less-serious situations, you may want to try the following suggestions first, with the idea of a support group or professional helper as a back-up if you need it.

Create a Social Media Group

Woman on laptop, smiling

Hero Images / Getty Images

Social media can be stressful in some ways. Seeing everyone else's carefully curated best moments and comparing them with your reality can be a source of significant stress.

But social media can also be a great source of support if you are mindful about who you open yourself up to. Minimize your exposure to those who post things that stress you out (doomsday articles, for example), and focus more on fun and supportive content instead. You can also join (or create) groups geared toward your interests.

The key is to be aware of what causes you stress and take action to create a space where you know you won't be bombarded with things that create undue stress, and where you can just relax. If you don't find that possible on social media, you can limit your time online and likely minimize your stress levels at the same time.

 Stressed By "Fakebooking"? Here's the Stress Relief You Need!

Join an Exercise Class

Yoga class meditating

Dougal Waters / Getty Images

Finding groups of completely like-minded people isn't always easy, but you can bet there's a group of people who share certain interests you have.

Exercise groups, particularly classes where the focus is a less competitive activity like yoga, pilates, or even meditation, can be great places to find others who want peaceful self-improvement. Many of these classes are like small communities in themselves and can be quite supportive, not just for goal achievement and motivation, but emotionally as well. 

Create A Regular Meet-Up

Three women in an office hugging

Robert Daly / Getty Images

This one is simpler than you may realize: Think of your favorite people, and ask them to get together more often! You may be the one to introduce them to one another, or they may be a small group of friends you met in a class, at church, or on the job. Just getting together with people who make you feel good can be very replenishing, and a great way to create greater emotional support in your life. 

Make Your Home a Stress-Free Sanctuary

Meditation at home

PeopleImages.com / DigitalVision / Getty Images

Creating a physical space where you can really relax is vital, particularly if you're an introvert. You can start by making your home into your own little sanctuary. Put up pictures of people you love, play some of your favorite music, and maybe give aromatherapy a try.

 5 Elements of a Peaceful Home

A Word From Verywell

Working on yourself can help you feel more comfortable in your own skin, and help you feel more emotionally safe wherever you go. Learn to say no without stress, set healthy boundaries, remember (and revel in) your strengths and successes, and more.

These tips can help you to build self-esteem and resilience toward stress. Put them to use and you'll find yourself feeling more confident and in control when you're facing people and situations that tend to tear you down.

Top Picks:: Videos, Key Word searches, & Links...

Read A Loud of the Day

Special Focus: MacBeth in the Classroom

Listen to MacBeth

Females Villains in Shakespeare

Artist rendition of lady macbeth

Probably the most famous femme fatale of all, Lady Macbeth is ambitious and manipulative and convinces her husband to kill King Duncan in order to usurp the throne. 

Lady Macbeth wishes that she could be a man in order to carry out the deed herself:

“Come you spirits that tend on mortal thoughts, unsex me here, and fill me from the crown to the toe top full of direst cruelty.” (Act 1, Scene 5)

She attacks her husband’s masculinity as he shows a conscience about killing the king and urges him on to commit regicide. This leads to Macbeth’s own downfall and eventually racked with guilt, Lady Macbeth takes her own life in a fit of madness. 

“Here’s the smell of the blood still. All the perfumes of Arabia will not sweeten this little hand” (Act 5, Scene 1)

Claire Underwood in House of Cards – Macbeth
The Venn diagram showing the personal qualities shared between Claire and Lady Macbeth would look like someone had made a very short, but tidy, stack of circles. They are both manipulative, ruthless, ambitious, keen to get their respective husbands to do their dirty work, scheming, childless, non-nurturing and capable of turning any situation to their advantage. Frank Underwood is perhaps slightly more robust than Macbeth himself, of course, having drawn malevolent strength from the full range of Shakespeare’s villains, but that doesn’t prevent Claire from being the power behind his throne.

MacBeth: Themes

Ambition is Macbeth's tragic flaw, and it's possible that nothing could have saved him from his fate. However, much of the blame can be placed on his wife. Power-hungry and manipulative, Lady Macbeth vows to do whatever it takes to advance her husband's murderous plan.

'Macbeth': Themes and Symbols 

Macbeth Study Guide

 

 

As a tragedy, Macbeth is a dramatization of the psychological repercussions of unbridled ambition. The play's main themes—loyalty, guilt, innocence, and fate—all deal with the central idea of ambition and its consequences. Similarly, Shakespeare uses imagery and symbolism to illustrate the concepts of innocence and guilt. 

 

Ambition 

Macbeth’s ambition is his tragic flaw. Devoid of any morality, it ultimately causes Macbeth’s downfall. Two factors stoke the flames of his ambition: the prophecy of the Three Witches, who claim that not only will he be thane of Cawdor, but also king, and even more so the attitude of his wife, who taunts his assertiveness and manhood and actually stage-directs her husband’s actions.

Macbeth’s ambition, however, soon spirals out of control. He feels that his power is threatened to a point where it can only be preserved through murdering his suspected enemies. Eventually, ambition causes both Macbeth’s and Lady Macbeth’s undoing. He is defeated in battle and decapitated by Macduff, while Lady Macbeth succumbs to insanity and commits suicide.

Loyalty

Loyalty plays out in many ways in Macbeth. At the beginning of the play, King Duncan rewards Macbeth with the title of thane of Cawdor, after the original thane betrayed him and joined forces with Norway, while Macbeth was a valiant general. However, when Duncan names Malcolm his heir, Macbeth comes to the conclusion that he must kill King Duncan in order to become king himself.

 

In another example of Shakespeare's loyalty and betrayal dynamic, Macbeth betrays Banquo out of paranoia. Although the pair were comrades in arms, after he becomes king, Macbeth remembers that the witches predicted that Banquo’s descendants would ultimately be crowned kings of Scotland. Macbeth then decides to have him killed.

Macduff, who suspects Macbeth once he sees the king’s corpse, flees to England to join Duncan’s son Malcolm, and together they plan Macbeth's downfall.

Appearance and Reality 

“False face must hide what the false heart doth know,” Macbeth tells Duncan, when he already has intentions to murder him near the end of act I.

 

Similarly, the witches utterances, such as “fair is foul and foul is fair”, subtly play with appearance and reality. Their prophecy, stating that Macbeth can’t be vanquished by any child “of woman born” is rendered vain when Macduff reveals that he was born via a caesarean section. In addition, the assurance that he would not be vanquished until “Great Birnam Wood to high Dunsinane Hill Shall come against him” is at first deemed an unnatural phenomenon, as a forest would not walk up a hill, but in reality meant that soldiers were cutting up trees in Birnam Wood to get closer to Dunsinane Hill.

Fate and Free Will

Would Macbeth have become king had he not chosen his murderous path? This question brings into play the matters of fate and free will. The witches predict that he would become thane of Cawdor, and soon after he is anointed that title without any action required of him. The witches show Macbeth his future and his fate, but Duncan’s murder is a matter of Macbeth’s own free will, and, after Duncan's assassination, the further assassinations are a matter of his own planning. This also applies to the other visions the witches conjure for Macbeth: he sees them as a sign of his invincibility and acts accordingly, but they actually anticipate his demise.

Symbolism of Light and Darkness

Light and starlight symbolize what is good and noble, and the moral order brought by King Duncan announces that “signs of nobleness, like stars, shall shine / On all deservers" (I 4.41-42).”

By contrast, the three witches are known as “midnight hags,” and Lady Macbeth asks the night to cloak her actions from the heaven. Similarly, once Macbeth becomes king, day and night become indistinguishable from one another. When Lady Macbeth displays her insanity, she wants to carry a candle with her, as a form of protection.

Symbolism of Sleep

In Macbeth, sleep symbolizes innocence and purity. For instance, after murdering King Duncan, Macbeth is in such distress that he believes he heard a voice saying "Methought I heard a voice cry 'Sleep no more! Macbeth does murder sleep,' the innocent sleep, Sleep that knits up the ravell'd sleave of care." He goes on to compare sleep to a soothing bath after a day of hard work, and to the main course of a feast, feeling that when he murdered his king in his sleep, he murdered sleep itself.

Similarly, after he sends killers to murder Banquo, Macbeth laments being constantly shaken by nightmares and by "restless ecstasy," where the word "ectsasy" loses any positive connotations.

When Macbeth sees Banquo’s ghost at the banquet, Lady Macbeth remarks that he lacks “the season of all natures, sleep.” Eventually, her sleep becomes disturbed as well. She becomes prone to sleepwalking, reliving the horrors of Duncan’s murder.

Symbolism of Blood

Blood symbolizes murder and guilt, and imagery of it pertains to both Macbeth and Lady Macbeth. For example, before killing Duncan, Macbeth hallucinates a bloody dagger pointing towards the king’s room. After committing the murder, he is horrified, and says: “Will all great Neptune's ocean wash this blood Clean from my hand? No."

Banquo’s ghost, who appears during a banquet, exhibits “gory locks.” Blood also symbolizes Macbeth’s own acceptance of his guilt. He tells Lady Macbeth, “I am in blood / Step't in so far that, should I wade no more, / Returning were as tedious as go o'er”.

3 witches

ilbusca / Getty Images

"Macbeth" is known to be a story about the desire for power of the protagonist and his wife, but there's a trio of characters that shouldn't be left out: the witches. Without the "Macbeth" witches, there would simply be no story to tell, as they move the plot.

The Witches' Question for Us

By giving the "Macbeth" witches their plot-pushing role in the play, Shakespeare is asking an age-old question: Are our lives already mapped out for us, or do we have a hand in what happens?

At the end of the play, the audience is forced to consider the extent to which the characters have control over their own lives. The debate over free will versus God's preordained plan for humanity has been debated for centuries and continues to be debated today.

MacBeth: Images

Macbeth is one of Shakespeare's most intense characters. While he is certainly no hero, he's not a typical villain, either. Macbeth is complex, and his guilt for his many bloody crimes is a central theme of the play. The presence of supernatural influences, another theme of "Macbeth," is another factor that affects the main character's choices. And like other Shakespeare characters who rely on ghosts and otherworldly portents, such as Hamlet and King Lear, Macbeth does not fare well in the end. 

Anna Netrebko as Lady Macbeth and Zeljko Lucic as Macbeth star in Verdi's Shakespearian opera, Macbeth, performed at the Metropolitan Opera House in New York City on Saturday, September 20, 2014.

Special Focus: MacBeth in the Classroom

The Yellow Wallpaper and Other Stories cover art

The Yellow Wallpaper and Other Stories

  •  
  • Written By: Charlotte Perkins Gilman
  • Narrated by: Kirsten Potter
  • Length: 4hrs 36mins
  • 3.8 out of 5 stars(313 Reviews)

Synopsis

This collection brings together 12 of the finest short stories of prominent American feminist author Charlotte Perkins Gilman. "The Yellow Wallpaper", Gilman's best-known work, was first published in 1892 and represents an important examination of 19th-century attitudes toward women's physical and mental health. Written as a collection of journal entries by a woman whose physician husband has confined her to her bedroom, the story depicts the narrator's descent into psychosis as her confinement gradually erodes her sanity.

Moby Dick cover art

Moby Dick

  •  
  • Written By: Herman Melville
  • Narrated by: Anthony Heald
  • Length: 23hrs 52mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars(1576 Reviews)

Synopsis

The outcast youth Ishmael, succumbing to wanderlust during a dreary New England autumn, signs up for passage aboard a whaling ship. The Pequod sails under the command of the one-legged Captain Ahab, who has set himself on a monomaniacal quest to capture the cunning white whale that robbed him of his leg: Moby-Dick. Capturing life on the sea with robust realism, Melville details the adventures of the colorful crew aboard the ship as Ahab pursues his crusade of revenge, heedless of all cost.

 

 Moby-Dick by Herman Melville (Macbeth/King Lear)

Melville's Great American Novel draws on both Biblical and Shakespearean myths. Captain Ahab is "a grand, ungodly, god-like man … above the common" whose pursuit of the great white whale is a fable about obsession and over-reaching. Just as Macbeth and Lear subvert the natural order of things, Ahab takes on Nature in his determination to kill his prey – and his hubristic quest is doomed from the start.

See the source image

Stephen Heintz

The Catcher in the Rye Audiobook

Lisa Genova – Still Alice Audiobook

Lisa Genova - Still Alice Audio Book Free

 

.

 

 

The Weird Sisters, by Eleanor Brown

Inspired by: Macbeth. Not so much a retelling of Shakespeare as a strange celebration of his work, in the context of a smart family dealing with tragedy. Brown’s characters will make you understand why some people are still more than happy to bend your ear endlessly about how fantastic Shakespeare’s plays really are. She takes plenty of bits and pieces of Macbeth for her story of three sisters crashing back into each other when they return home to deal with the illness of their mother (a Shakespeare scholar). You” come away with a love for her characters and a burning desire to read the Bard.

Useful databases

Macbeth Audio cover

Macbeth

Read by Karen Peakes - a special recording for The Folger Shakespeare's Macbeth by the Folger Theatre

In 1603, James VI of Scotland ascended the English throne, becoming James I of England. London was alive with an interest in all things Scottish, and Shakespeare turned to Scottish history for material. He found a spectacle of violence and stories of traitors advised by witches and wizards, echoing James’s belief in a connection between treason and witchcraft.

In depicting a man who murders to become king, Macbeth teases us with huge questions. Is Macbeth tempted by fate, or by his or his wife’s ambition? Why does their success turn to ashes?

Like other plays, Macbeth speaks to each generation. Its story was once seen as that of a hero who commits an evil act and pays an enormous price. Recently, it has been applied to nations that overreach themselves and to modern alienation. The line is blurred between Macbeth’s evil and his opponents’ good, and there are new attitudes toward both witchcraft and gender.

10 Shakespeare Quotes

Macbeth makes clear that ambition drives his actions, stating as early as Act 1 that his sense of ambition is “vaulting”:

"I have no spur
To prick the sides only
Vaulting ambition, which oerleaps itself
And falls on the other."
(Act 1, Scene 7)
  1. Macbeth
    Is this a dagger which I see before me,
    The handle toward my hand? Come, let me clutch thee!
    I have thee not, and yet I see thee still.
    Art thou not, fatal vision, sensible
    To feeling as to sight? or art thou but
    A dagger of the mind, a false creation
    Proceeding from the heat-oppressed brain?
    (Macbeth, Act 2, Scene 1)

Macbeth’s Guilt

Shakespeare does not let Macbeth get off too lightly. Before long, he is plagued with guilt: Macbeth starts hallucinating; he sees the ghost of murdered Banquo, and he hears voices:

"Methought I heard a voice cry 'Sleep no more!
Macbeth does murder sleep.'"
(Act 2, Scene 1)

Macbeth also hallucinates the murder weapons, creating one of the play’s most famous quotes:

"Is this a dagger which I see before me,
The handle toward my hand?"
(Act 2, Scene 1)

In the same act, Ross, Macduff's cousin, sees right through Macbeth's unbridled ambition and predicts where it will lead: to Macbeth becoming king.

"'Gainst nature still!
Thriftless ambition, that will ravin up
Thine own lives' means! Then 'tis most like
The sovereignty will fall upon Macbeth."
(Act 2, Scene 4)

In this speech, Macbeth realizes that time ticks on regardless and that his actions will be lost to time:

"Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow
Creeps in this petty pace from day to day
To the last syllable of recorded time
And all our yesterdays have lighted fools
The way to dusty death."
(Act 5, Scene 5)

Macbeth seems to realize in this speech the cost of his unchecked ambition. But it is too late: There is no reversing the consequences of his evil opportunism.

Jamieson, Lee. "Famous Quotes From 'Macbeth'." ThoughtCo, Oct. 29, 2020, thoughtco.com/macbeth-ambition-quotes-2985024.

MacBeth: Quotes Explained

Quotes About Reality and Illusion

"Fair is foul, and foul is fair:
Hover through the fog and filthy air."
(Act I, Scene 1)

The Tragedy of Macbeth opens with an eerie, supernatural scene. Amidst thunder and lightening, three witches moan into the wind. They tell us that nothing is as it seems. What's good ("fair") is evil ("foul"). What's evil is good. Everything is strangely reversed.

Lady Macbeth shares Macbeth's crime, but does not immediately show guilt. She coldly returns the daggers to the crime scene and smears blood on the king's sleeping grooms so that they will be blamed. Seemly unruffled, she tells her husband, "A little water clears us of this deed" (Act II, Scene 2).

"Out, damned spot! out, I say! — One: two: why,

then, 'tis time to do't. — Hell is murky! — Fie, my

lord, fie! a soldier, and afeard? What need we

fear who knows it, when none can call our power to

account? — Yet who would have thought the old man

to have had so much blood in him.

"To-morrow, and to-morrow, and to-morrow,

Creeps in this petty pace from day to day

To the last syllable of recorded time,

And all our yesterdays have lighted fools

The way to dusty death. Out, out, brief candle!

Life's but a walking shadow, a poor player

That struts and frets his hour upon the stage

And then is heard no more: it is a tale

Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,

Signifying nothing."

(Act V, Scene 5)

Unable to recover from her guilt, Lady Macbeth kills herself.

Macbeth, he's already in deep despair. Abandoned by his noblemen and knowing his own days are numbered, he delivers one of the most desolate soliloquies in the English language.

In this extended metaphor, Macbeth compares life to a theatrical performance. Days on earth are as short-lived as the candles that illuminate the Elizabethan stage. Each person is nothing more than a shadow cast by that flickering light, a silly actor who struts about and then vanishes when the candle is snuffed. In this metaphor, nothing is real and nothing matters. Life is "a tale told by an idiot… signifying nothing."

MacBeth: Quiz - Check your knowledge

Shakespears's

Useful databases

William Shakespeare
William Shakespeare
1564-1616

Shakespeare: On - MYON

Shakespeare's Theatre

Shakespeare's Theatre header image

In Shakespeare’s time, a stage wasn’t just one type of space; plays had to be versatile. The same play might be produced in an outdoor playhouse, an indoor theater, a royal palace—or, for a company on tour, the courtyard of an inn.

In any of these settings, men and boys played all the characters, male and female; acting in Renaissance England was an exclusively male profession. Audiences had their favorite performers, looked forward to hearing music with the productions, and relished the luxurious costumes of the leading characters. The stage itself was relatively bare. For the most part, playwrights used vivid words instead of scenery to picture the scene onstage.

Below, you will find a number of resources about theater during Shakespeare’s life, including an authoritative essay from the Folger Shakespeare Editions complete with a guide to further reading.

Shakespeare's Life header image

Shakespeare’s Life

Since William Shakespeare lived more than 400 years ago, and many records from that time are lost or never existed in the first place, we don’t know everything about his life. For example, we know that he was baptized in Stratford-upon-Avon, 100 miles northwest of

London, on April 26, 1564. But we don’t know his exact birthdate, which must have been a few days earlier.

We do know that Shakespeare’s life revolved around two locations: Stratford and London. He grew up, had a family, and bought property in Stratford, but he worked in London, the center of English theater. As an actor, a playwright, and a partner in a leading acting company, he became both prosperous and well-known. Even without knowing everything about his life, fans of Shakespeare have imagined and reimagined him according to their own tastes, just as we see with the 19th-century portrait of Shakespeare wooing his wife at the top of this page.

Below, you will find a number of resources about the life of William Shakespeare, including an authoritative essay from the Folger Shakespeare Editions complete with a guide for further reading.

Why should you read MacBeth

MacBeth: Resources

Watch/Shakespeare's Globe

The title Macbeth is in between to actors depicting Macbeth and Lady Macbeth, they both look distressed

MACBETH (2020)

Our 2020 production of Macbeth is available for teachers, to share with their students. Teachers, register your interest using the online form and a link will be sent to you. Available until 22 July 2021.

This Playing Shakespeare with Deutsche Bank production of Macbeth took place in 2020. It is currently available as an exclusive video stream for teachers to access until 23 July 2021.

Teachers, to get access to this free film, just fill out the simple form and you will be sent a password-protected link. This can then be shared with your students so that classes can have separate access to the video of the play from their own individual homes.

This full-scale, fast-paced 90 minute performance is designed to introduce students and families to Shakespeare. The original performance took place in the Globe Theatre.

‘My hope would be that when people leave the theatre they become revolutionaries and take the lessons they learn in the theatre out into the wide world’

— Cressida Brown

Movies Based on MacBeth

Toho Studios

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

Based on: Macbeth

Throne of Blood presents itself as a fairly straightforward adaption of Macbeth, aside from the relocation of the story from 11th century Scotland to feudal Japan. Macbeth is portrayed by Takeotiki Washizu (Toshiro Mifune), with his wife, Lady Macbeth, played by Lady Asaji Washizu (Isuzu Yamada).

Men of Respect (1990)

Arthur Goldblatt Productions
  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

Based on: Macbeth

The story of Macbeth retold as a gritty, mob drama feels like an obvious choice. Standing in as Macbeth, Mike Battaglia (John Turturro), plans a hostile mob takeover at the urging of his Lady Macbeth-esque wife, Ruthie (Katherine Borowitz).

MacBeth: Movie Trailers

On The Stage

Acts and Scenes: MacBeth

Crash Course

MacBeth: Movie Trailers

Quotes and Quotables

Social Justice: 101

Why Identity Matters

Find A Book: MyOn

She/he/they/them. Why do we use gender pronouns? And why do some people wish to be referred to as "they"? What is gender identity all about? Students will learn to understand these terms and the reasons behind them. They will also learn how to deal with questions they may have about gender identity.

Social Justice: 101

10 WaysYouth Can Engage in Activism