Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Virtual Learning Common's - ucdsb.vlc
UCDSB: Special Education Resources
“Nothing motivates a
child more than when
learning is valued by
schools and families/
together in partnership.”
Welcome Teach Special Education
Welcome to the Special Education Gateway, your passage to effective strategies and resources for teaching students with special needs in Ontario’s elementary and secondary schools. This site has been developed by the Ontario Teachers’ Federation (OTF), with funding from the Ontario Ministry of Education
For every student,
We’re a nonprofit with the mission to provide a free, world-class education for anyone, anywhere.
Riddlles, Puzzles and Brain Teasers
Just Riddles And More offers an enormous variety of riddles for all occasions and all of our over 5000 riddles include the answers. Browse through our huge collection of riddles, puzzles, jokes, illusions, quizzes, kids pages and more and you'll quickly see that we have something for everyone, thousands of riddles and much more! Have fun and be sure to check out our 1250 brain teasers and our logic riddles if you really want to test your solving abilities!
The Association for Bright Children of Ontario / Société pour enfants doués et surdoués de l'Ontario
Inspiration Bank -
“If there’s a book you really want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”
Calling all authors, writers, poets, readers, dreamers, and imagination superstars! Share your favourite books, and discover new ones. Sharpen that pencil or create an online story to share with your friends and the school community. This is your special 'maker' and 'sharer' space!
NFB: A Change of Scenery - Practice Mindfulness
Autism in the classroom
These children become a little more independent by engaging in meaningful activities (making a sandwich), following examples (crossing the street), learning about appropriate social behaviours (challenging an adult), understanding and acting on relationships between individuals (waiting one’s turn), and observing what others do in class and then repeating it at home. This type of learning is supported by a variety of tools, means, approaches and strategies that are effective and also ensure the peace of mind, safety and well-being of the student.
Read A Loud of the Day
Mensa For Kids
Mensa and the Mensa Foundation offer a range of benefits for gifted youth, and joining Mensa has never been easier.
Messages from your brain travel along your nerves at up to 200 miles an hour! Play along with these clips from Brain Games, the National Geographic Channel show that messes with your mind and reveals the inner-workings of your brain.
Useful Databases and Web-sites
Yoy CAN Do the Rubics Cube
Teaching to Solve the Rubik’s Cube
Not sure how to get started? Here are some resources.
We have resources to appeal to different learning styles. The Learn to Solve curriculum includes detailed lessons to teach each stage of the cube. The lessons use appropriate math vocabulary and make connections to other content such as art (making mosaics) and ELA (reading informational text). In addition, we have videos and songs and chants to help students remember the algorithms. Other resources, including the Rubik's Cube Mat for solving, a sample schedule, and a list of teaching tips, help motivate learners of all ages.
Useful Databases and Web-sites
Suggested Databases - UCDSB: Virtual Learning Common's
Direct Link to Desire to Learn - Gifted and Curious Learner's
Special Education Resources for Teachers, Parents & Student
Global Legal Monitor
Provided by the Library of Congress, this e-publication provides access to current news of judicial/legal decisions being made globally. You will first arrive at the Canadian news page.
Ontario Government Documents
Access 26,000 government documents from the collection of the Ontario Legislative Library. Simple searching, or browse by titles, by ministry/agency, authors, subjects, or years.
My Health Magazine
MyHealth Magazine is a health and wellness interactive online publication that covers topics from mental health, physical well-being, to social skills and advise, as well as disorders or hot topics like bullying.
***GET THE ACCESS CODE TO CREATE YOUR OWN ACCOUNT & ACCESS THE MAGAZINE FROM YOUR LCI! ***
Online, digital image of The Ottawa Citizen only. Choose Ontario on the map, then Ottawa Citizen from choice of newspapers. This subscription allows access from any UCDSB networked computer to the Digital Citizen site. Teachers only have access to the Digital Citizen from their home computers
Learning Commons Informationist