Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Environmental Studies In Context
Database of analysis, journals, news, case studies, primary sources, statistics and multimedia focusing on the physical, social and economic aspects of environmental issues.
Britannica High School Edition
Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for high school students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.
Global Issues in Context
International viewpoints on a range of cross discipline global issues, topics and current events. Database contains topic and country portals for detailed analysis.
Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.
Talk to your LCI today!
Ring of Fire
Use this resource to learn about the Ring of Fire.
This article describes several different types of natural hazards that pose threats to humans and other forms of life. Use the hyperlinks throughout the article to learn more about each natural hazard.
Human Impact on the Environment
Use the navigation tabs next to the image at the top of the page to learn about how humans are impacting and restraining the environment.
Use this resource to learn about the major geological formations.
Protecting Natural Resources
Click on the natural resources in this resource to find out how humans are affecting natural resources and how we can take steps to protect the remaining natural resources.
Global Ecosystems Map
Click on areas in this interactive map to learn the location of where you clicked and what type of ecosystem and landforms are there.
Ocean Currents and Climate
Watch the video and read the description below to learn about what ocean currents are and how they affect the climate.
National Geographic describes different global vegetation regions. use the pictures at the top of the page for examples of some of the vegetation regions discussed.
Cascadia is a large bioregion in North America that covers several states and provinces. Use this resource to learn about bioregions and how they affect the environment and humans.
Effects of Volcanic Eruptions
Use this resource to learn about the affects that volcanic eruptions have on humans and the surrounding environment.
Climate and Melting Glaciers
National Geographic has a collection of resources and articles about the "Big Thaw" which is how melting glaciers are affecting the environment and how humans have caused this drastic climatic change.
NASA: Global Climate Change
From NASA learn about the signs and causes of climate change and how it is affecting humans and environment. Use the tabs at the top of the article to explore more about climate change.
Climate Change and Earth's Systems
This resource includes several images of how climate change is affecting the Earth.
Human Impact on Amazon Rainforest
This resource describes the devastating effect that humans have had on the Amazon Rainforest, especially from logging. Use the "Related Stories" box to learn more about how humans are affecting climate change.
National Geographic describes with text and images how rick formations are made and altered by weathering.
- Rock Formations
- Climate Change
- Ocean Currents
- Human Impact
- Climatic Zones
- Plate Tectonics
Gr. 9-12: Ask Us/Demande Moi
Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?
Gr. 9-12: How do I cite my sources?