LibGuides: Grade 10: Canadian History Since World War I (CHC2D and CHC2P): Social, Economic, and Political Context

Suggested Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects.
Gale OneFile: World History This link opens in a new window Database providing coverage of both current thinking and events in world history.
Canada in Context This link opens in a new window Online experience of contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events.
Canadian Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window French/English. A comprehensive and authoritative general Canadian reference work. Also includes quizzes, games, multimedia, and links to other resources.
ON-Core : Core Curriculum On-Demand This link opens in a new window
Britannica High School Edition This link opens in a new window Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for high school students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.
Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada This link opens in a new window Reference maps of Indigenous Canada, information and historical photos on Truth and Reconciliation, First Nations, Metis & Inuit Peoples, as well a glossary of common Indigenous terms.
Secret Life of Canada Podcast (CBC) This link opens in a new window "The Secret Life of Canada highlights the people, places and stories that probably didn't make it into your high school textbook. Join hosts Leah and Falen as they explore the unauthorized history of a complicated country." Focus is on studying Canadian history through a diverse lens.
Curio.ca This link opens in a new window

Find more databases

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are found on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Talk to your LCI today!

Key Social Changes

Cooperative Commonwealth Federation Saskatchewan's 1944 CCF Election
History of Canadian Medicare - 1930-1939

The Great Depression of the 1930s in Canada
by Michiel Horn c. 1984
Unemployment Relief Camps - The Canadian Encyclopedia "During the Great Depression, the federal government sanctioned the creation of a system of unemployment relief camps, where in exchange for room-and-board, single men did physically demanding labour. The government was criticized for establishing the camps rather than addressing the need for reasonable work and wages."

Major Developments in Science and Technology

1938 Massey-Harris Combine Model 20 Henry Ford Museum
Self-Propelled Combines & the Harvest Brigade Wessel's Living History Farm

The Canadian Cereal: Pablum

The Discovery and Development of Penicillin

Click on the image to open the pdf version of this commemorative booklet or go to the website below for more information and resources from the American Chemical Society (ACS)

http://www.acs.org/content/acs/en/education/whatischemistry/landmarks/flemingpenicillin.html