LibGuides: Grade 12: English: Oral Communications

Suggested Databases

Britannica High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Reference articles, journals, magazines, websites, multimedia, and curriculum content for high school students. Includes dictionary, atlas and student workspace.
Audacity - Downloadable Audio Editor and Recorder This link opens in a new window
Audacity is a free downloadable software that allows you to record and edit audio. It is a great tool for practicing pronunciation, and creating music.
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new window
English/French. From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, and linguistics
Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Database of books, authors, genres and topics to help you find your next book to read!

Find more databases

VLC Bookmark

Logins for all VLC databases are on the back of the VLC Bookmark.

Get one from your LCI today!

How to debate

Complete Guide to Debating: How to Improve Your Debating Skills
Learn what a debate is, the structure of debates, and much more.

Top Picks

Oral communication is the process of verbally transmitting information and ideas from one individual or group to another. Oral communication can be either Formal or Informal.

Examples of informal oral communication include:

Face-to-face conversations
Telephone conversations
Discussions that take place at business meetings

Examples of formal types of oral communication include:

Debates
Presentations in class and meetings
Classroom lectures
Commencement speech given at a graduation ceremony

From: Swarthout, Donna. "Oral Communication: Definition, Styles and Advantage." Http://study.com/academy/lesson/oral-communication-definition-types-advantages.html. Web. 21 Apr. 2015. <http://study.com/academy/lesson/oral-communication-definition-types-advantages.html>.

Get Help by Learning Presentation & Oral Communication Skills:

Oral Communication
This is a brief explanation of the value of oral communication in the workplace, including a definition and potential applications
Presentation Skills - Student Service @ UBC
Here are some tips & tricks for honing your presentation skills.
Presentation Tips - UBC Learning Commons
Watch a video and learn some tips about how to improve your presentation skills.
30 Ways To Manage Speaking Anxiety
Group Work and Presentations
Practical advice and ideas to get the most out of group projects
Powerpoint Tips - University of Nebraska
Do not cause 'death by Power Point.' Learn some key tips on how to build meaningful and effective Power Point presentations

Want to learn more? Try these cool software tools!

Prezi
This zooming presentation software is a dynamic alternative to Power Point.
Slide Share
Create a free account and post your presentation online. Slide Share provides amazing design and marketing tips, and more!
Spicy Nodes
Create a dynamic presentation based on expanding nodes.
PowToon
Create animated video presentations.

Poll Everywhere
Survey or poll your audience on the spot and get real time feedback.
Survey Monkey
Create your own amazing & free online survey using Survey Monkey!

Voki
Create your own speaking character (avatar) software
Canva
Free, online, SIMPLE graphic design. Create flyers, presentations, blogs - anything - with drag and drop simplicity!
Quizlet
This FREE resource will help to you to find or create your own quizzing games & activities - flashcards, matching, and more.
Kahoot!
Create a fun learning game in minutes (we call these ‘kahoots’), made from a series of multiple choice questions.

Non-verbal Communication

Type of non-verbal communication and the roles they play
Source: Helpguide.Org
10 non-verbal communication tips
Source: About Education
Listening Skills

Gr. 9-12: Ask Us/Demande Moi

Gr. 9-12: How do I start my research?

Gr. 9-12: How do I cite my sources?

How to Facilitate a Discussion & Run a Workshop

Techniques for Leading Group Discussions - Community Tool Box
Learn the key elements of how to facilitate a discussion
Facilitating Effective Discussions - University of Waterloo
Learn the key elements of how to facilitate a discussion. This is a very important skill for running workshops!
Conducting a Workshop - University of Kansas
Learn what a workshop is, how to conduct one, and when it is appropriate to do so.

Search terms in Destiny for grade 12 English

Search terms for Grade 12 English in Destiny

Communication
English
Literature
Writing
Media
Debating